Orthonian

in #fiction3 years ago

I was the only Orthonian ever to set foot on the planet Earth. I came there for a visit with my parents, who were our government's ambassadors. I was a bit nervous about being the only student without wings and with blue skin, but I didn't let it show. I had learned that different does not mean inferior.

When my parents finally showed me around the school, I realized what a surprise I was to the children of this place. They tried to greet me, but their language was completely foreign to me. I watched as one child pointed to me then to himself. Did he want me to be his friend? This seemed like a good idea to me. I wanted friends.

I gave him a new word that I had learned – "friend." As I said it, he began making his strange sounds again. I realized later that these must have been words in his own language. Before I could respond to him, another group of children came over to us. This was when I found out what his original group had been trying to tell me. Put simply, they had been inviting me to play ball with them right then.

They were surprised and a bit hesitant when I said that I would join them. However, I found that I could communicate with them much easier than I had thought I would, with the use of my translator. It didn't matter that they had two additional limbs nor did it matter that they did not have wings. They were still a friendly folk. I even made a few friends among them.

The next morning, I was eager to tell my parents about my experiences. They were very happy to hear that I had made friends so quickly. However, they also had to start their work that day, leaving me at the school. I asked if I could stay with the new friends that I made, but they said that they were not able to leave me alone. I embraced them and was happy to see them go. I wanted to stay with the children.

After they left, I went to check with my new friends. They told me that they wanted to play ball. So I tried to teach them some of the new things I had learned, like how to march like an Orthonian.

On the way to the playground, I greeted one of the children. He looked at me and then looked away. Was this a bad thing? Was he a bit afraid of me? Or was he just shy?

When we arrived, the children and I began to run to the court, passing old children from earlier grades. I soon realized that I was their leader, though that thought did not concern me. After a bit of small talk, we began to play ball.

I soon realized that this was being as good as it could get. Though I had spent my whole life in the presence of other Orthonians, I had never done anything without command like this. This was where I found my true happiness.

The ball game went on and on as the rest of the day passed. I had eaten a lot of sugar bubbles! I had also been playing and running only with newer children, so I did not know these children's names yet. I did not let that matter for long, though.

At one point during the game, I noticed a group of older children standing on the sidelines. They looked up at me and then began to applaud. However, they seemed hesitant to join in. Their applause was not for me. It was for the game, and for the sense of freedom that they felt.

Then I noticed the youngest group of the children whom had greeted me the day before. These children were eager to join in the game. As they watched the older kids, I saw them take a few tentative steps in our direction. Then they ran off! They ran for the precipice of the playground's tallest mountain!

Suddenly, a multitude of wings took flight from the group of older children. They began to order the youngest to get back, but before they could, I made my way to the mountain and began to climb for them.



Pic (Source)

Sort:  

Congratulations @crocodilesputnik! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 3000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 3250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP