Abused

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

lc3a1grimas.jpg

I was startled when I heard things crashing on the floor. I jumped out of bed confused. For an instant I was disoriented, trying to make out where the sound was coming from. I listened hard - then I discovered people were struggling and a child was crying for help.

I looked out the window, it was still very dark. My head was vibrating and aching from having to wake suddenly. With sleep still in my eyes, I stretch out my hands over the bed searching for my phone. I could swear I left it just beside me, because I remember sending a message to Amy with it before sleeping.

Where could I have dropped my phone?! I was already getting frustrated searching for it in the dark. Then i heard the child scream again and talking in a mumbled tone, i listened hard to make out what she was saying. The words she spoke tore my heart, I didn't realize when I also started to cry.... she said " I told you guys to stop and you wouldn't listen, now see what is happening" I heard her crying loudly and pleading to her parents to stop. I heard her parents shouting and saying hurtful words- words definitely not meant for a little child to hear.

I was so confused on what to do, there had been other episodes like this, but this seemed to be the height of it. I finally got to the light switch and turned on the bedside lamp. The light hurt my eyes, then I found the phone on the floor. Squinting, I tried to make out what was on the screen. My God! It was just 3Am.

Then i heard the voices coming from the street, i rushed to my bedroom window to make out what was happening. I saw the child's mum wearing a see through night dress running out of the house, with tears streaming down her face. Her husband was coming behind her like a charged up bull.

The little girl who was about 7, was right behind them Like a beaten up kitten drenched in its bowl of milk. She shouted at her father to stop. You are hurting mum she screamed! Just then, I saw him turn, he shouted at her to go back in . She sobbed even harder.

He rushed towards her mum and smarked her hard on her face.

I couldn't bear it no more, I picked up my phone to dial 9-1-1....but it seemed like the devil was enjoying it all, my phone beeped, showed battery critically low and powered down. I just hoped someone else would make the call.

I heard the woman screening for help and shouting- Jeff stop! Apparently 'Jeff' was enjoying the whole thing, he laughed hard as he kicked and beat her. from the reflection of the street lamp, I could see blood on her face- where it was coming from, I couldn't say. Her nightie was also torn. She was a really beautiful woman. Why would she allow herself to be subjected to this?

Anger welled up in my heart. This was complete foolishness! Then i noticed an older couple come from the next building. The husband was talking to Jeff sternly, while the wife took the little girl and the mother into the house.

After much conversing with Jeff, both men went inside.

I was still close to my window watching, waiting to see what would happen next. About 30mins later the older couple came out. It took another 1hour before the lights were out in the house and things seemed to return back to normal.

The whole episode got me so depressed, I couldn't go back to bed. The scene of Jeff hitting his wife and laughing kept replaying in my head. He looked happy. He seemed to get strength to hurt her more when he saw how vulnerable and helpless she was. And the little girl, the thought of her made me cry.

He was just a coward and a big bully.

I realised my head was still aching, so i took some painkillers and went back to sleep. When i finally woke up and looked out the window, the scene i saw was a total shock....

Jeff and his wife were walking hand in hand. She looked so beautiful and smart in a long sleeve pink and white stripped chiffon top, neatly tucked into a black high waist skirt. She wore her hair down and skillfully applied makeup to cover up the bruises from last night. She finished this up, with a lovely black heel shoes and a matching bag.

Jeff looked so calm and content with himself. He wore a jeans and tucked in a stripped long sleeve shirt. Looking at him with all the light in his face, I admit he was handsome. The picture they painted was one of a happy couple, so in love.

I was completely disgusted. Wasn't this the same woman with blood on her face? The same woman rolling on the floor, crying to her husband to stop using her as his punching bag? The same woman whose nightie was torn because of the way her husband maltreated her? Was I dreaming? The questions kept rushing in my head....

Then the little girl came running, trying to catch up with them- the honest expression she had betrayed her parents. I could see pain, sadness, confusion in her eyes. I could see a little girl yearning to have a truly happy home.

If this is what marriage is, I never want to be married.

Sort:  

Congratulations @elsieguy! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @elsieguy! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 10 replies.
Your next target is to reach 50 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!