Challenge #03499-I211: She Demands Her Tribute

in #fiction2 years ago

canstockphoto28595573.jpg

They're trying to get work done, they're at their desk, there is a pile of paperwork, but the local cats are being absolute cuddle-bums today! -- Anon Guest

[AN: With reference to Meet Lilbit]

Two kind hands are not enough for one cat. There were times and civilisations when cats were worshipped like gods. Neither cats nor Wraithvine had forgotten this. The kitten was just a little bit of fur with claws and teeth attached, thus earning the name Lilbit.

This became enormously ironic as the cat grew up.

Wraithvine was allegedly working in hir diary. Making certain there was at least one source of hir exploits that was accurate to hir own memory. Lilbit, wearing a parasite-repelling collar, was having none of it.

The full-grown cat, who overflowed Wraithvine's lap, butted at Wraithvine's hands. She batted at Wraithvine's quill. She clambered onto Wraithvine's knees, meowing raucously all the while. Finally, in an act of feline protest, she stuck her tail in his face.

Wraithvine cleaned hir quill and set aside hir work. Devoting both hands to the intensely more important task of providing pets, scritchies, and attention to the cat. "I did make a promise, didn't I, your sacrosanct?"

Lilbit set up an enormously loud purr, flexing her claws into Wraithvine's trews. She sent up clouds of hair with each swipe of Wraithvine's hands. Wraithvine retrieved a special comb to drive the loose hair from her expansive form.

"Yes, my little goddess. You are a wonderful being who deserves everything that is best in life." Wraithvine found her itchiest spots and caused a decent fifteen percent of Lilbit to spill over hir knees. "I was trying to record some history for the greater world, but I am clearly ignoring my duties."

Lilbit, evidently, did not care. Purring, stretching, sprawling, and otherwise demonstrating unadulterated affection to her chosen person.

"Thank you, little goddess, for you blessings," ze said. It was only partially sarcastic. "You're right. You deserve all the attention."

There would be no diary writing until this little goddess was satisfied.

[Image (c) Can Stock Photo / hannadarzy]

If you like my stories, please Check out my blog and Follow me. Or share them with your friends!

[65 remaining prompts] Please don't send any more prompts for now. Thank you.

Support me on Patreon / Buy me a Ko-fi

Check out the other stuff I'm selling

Sort:  

LOL This reminds me of how my cats behave when I'm trying to READ!

My cats behave like this when I stream :D Or when I'm talking to peeps on Discord.