Challenge #04088-K070: How the Sausage Gets Made

in #fiction2 months ago

scott-carroll-favQn8WgRyk-unsplash.jpg

A non pax humanis world filled with game to be hunted. Deer, rabbits, squirrels many varieties of birds, large boars, buffalo, etc. The hunting was absolutely necessary as there was few predators for such prey. This world freely taught those who wanted to hunt how to do so humanely, and how to clean and process the meat. Not all who want to hunt are vicious killers. -- Anon Guest

Speculation abounded about the world. It was full of herbivores. The only thing that kept the populations under some kind of control were diseases and some of the parasites. If it wasn't for periodic interventions, the other method of population control would be famines.

Some said it was a vegan's graveworld. Some said it was someone's attempt to preserve endangered species in a paradise made just for them. Someone said it was a half-finished attempt at Earth Mark Two, before they installed the predators. Either way, it was a place for a certain group to understand the nature of nature. Including the simple and painful truth: All life, everywhere, feeds on death.

Even the cloned muscle in the tube vats had its origin in a living creature. The printed meats' patterns did the same. There once was something alive, that had to be dead, to make food.

Another truth is: Even killing can be ethical.

It's a skill. One that requires the complete knowledge of the creature they're hunting. Their habits, their normal behaviours, their range... and what they tend to do when they panic.

It requires patience, stealth, situational awareness, and a certain amount of detective skill.

And it requires the courage to kill a living thing.

Then there's the cleanup. Processing the body into meat and materials. Gory work. Sometimes too gory for too many.

Many Havenworlders try it, because it needs to be done and understanding Deathworlders can include operating like them. Lots of them can't complete the exercise.

Few like doing it. Fewer come back to do it again.

Rare, indeed, are the regulars. Those join the Humans to become guides for the others.

[Photo by Scott Carroll on Unsplash]

If you like my stories, please Check out my blog and Follow me. Or share them with your friends! Or visit my hub site to see what else I'm up to.

Send me a prompt [95 remaining prompts!]

Support me on Patreon / Buy me a Ko-fi

Check out the other stuff I'm selling

Sort:  

First time I learned to hunt, I cried when I killed a deer. But my father told me, "we do this so we can eat, the animal did not suffer, and this meat will last us quite a while."

Growing up very poor on a farm gives you a good understanding of where your food comes from.

I learned how to gut a chook at about 4 or 5 years of age. No qualms here :D The 25th century is more than a bit different about it all.

A quick, clean kill is far more merciful than a slow and lingering death.