Challenge #04125-K107: Consequences of Ignorance

in #fiction21 days ago

isolated-mousetrap.jpg

A notice is put out just outside of, and within all zoos and other animal exhibits in the greater Galactic Alliance.
"Notice to all visitors. There are safety and security barriers for a reason. Any individual, or group of individuals, attempting to bypass these barriers to interact with animals not marked safe for interaction, will be charged Time for the resultant medical intervention. These individuals will also be required to serve one standard Year of Community Service, and undergo rehabilitation along with reading and comprehension testing."
Needless to say, dereggers everywhere were aghast and screamed about discrimination, despite it being pointed out, the warning was for all visitors.
https://peakd.com/fiction/@internutter/challenge-03959-j307-habeas-testiculos -- Anon Guest

The notice was underneath a larger sign that said, Conditions of Entry in large, friendly letters. There was an attendant nearby in case of sudden onset illiteracy.

Before anyone could enter, they had to read the words out loud and state their understanding on record before entering.

If they refused, they would be politely turned away from entering. If they refused to be politely turned away, then Security would arrive to insist they turn away.

"This is fascism," cried every single Deregger, who should definitely have experience with what it looked like. "I know my rights! I paid to see these critters and I demand to see the manager! This is fraud! This is theft! I'll sue!"

The manager was nearby. In a neighbouring office, in fact. Effectively on call for just such an occasion.

It was always the Dereggers who objected to the conditions of entry. Everyone else was perfectly fine with understanding the warnings. It was always a Deregger who faithfully believed that warnings did not apply to them.

"I paid to see these freaks," ranted this particular example. "I demand to see them! I! Know! My! Rights!"

"Not yet," said the manager. "We take the entry fee after the reading and comprehension of the conditions of entry. So far, you have paid to come to this station."

"I refuse to leave until I get what I want."

"As you wish. We reserve the right to refuse admission to anyone who refuses to acknowledge the necessity of our safety measures."

"Safety is a scam! You snowflakes want to wrap everyone up in cotton batting! I'll be fine, I know what I'm doing! I'm a responsible adult!"

"Do you understand that passing through the barriers is a risk to your health and wellbeing?"

"There is no risk to my health and wellbeing, I refuse to participate in this scam! This is a conspiracy to try and control me and I refuse to participate!"

The manager produced an old-fashioned wire mousetrap. Baited and set. "If you touch this cheese, you will be hurt. Do you understand?"

"I understand that you're lying," the knomira jabbed a finger at the cheese.

Snap.

Immediate screaming and threats to sue.

"This interaction has been recorded as part of your mental state assessment. You have been pre-emptively judged as incapable of understanding direct consequences. You may either return to your home, or submit yourself to remedial therapy to amend this disability. You will not be permitted to enter the zoo until you understand consequences."

Then came the threats to never patronise the establishment again. They would complain to their manager. They'd take this to the highest authority.

Threats that never came to pass.

[Image from [https://www.publicdomainpictures.net/en/view-image.php?image=112454&picture=isolated-mousetrap](Public Domain Pictures) ]

If you like my stories, please Check out my blog and Follow me. Or share them with your friends! OR Visit my hub site to see what else I'm up to.

Send me a prompt [83 remaining prompts!]

Support me on Patreon / Buy me a Ko-fi

Check out the other stuff I'm selling