Fifty word challenge: The week in review and new prompt

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

Hi Fifty Worders! This post is coming out over a day later than usual. Thanks for your patience.

As most of you know by now, I had a mishap this past week with my Steemit passwords and am trying to recover my @jayna account. Life throws a curveball sometimes! For now I’m @jaynas-minime.

Okay, so let’s get to the post of the week. In this post, I will provide links to the full collection of 50-word stories from last week and share some highlights of the week. And then I'll launch a new prompt.

Fun fact: Last week's prompt had the most participation of any 50-word story prompt so far. The number of participants each week typically is between 20 and 25. Last week it was 31!

50wordsGIFhashtag.gif
(Image credit: Original image by pixel2013, Pixabay)

Last week's 50-word stories


I’d like to welcome to our newest contributors, @blueteddy, @khadija14, @olakunle10, @vdux, @papacrusher, @tinkerrose and @anonymummy. Thanks for joining the Fifty Worders!

Last week's prompt was “run.”

Here is the complete list of stories inspired by the “run” prompt:

If I missed yours, please let me know and I will add it! I always try my best to list them all, but I do occasionally miss one somehow.

Highlights of the week


Each week I choose just a few of the awesome highlights of the week, which is always really difficult because the stories are all so amazing! But here goes -- a few picks from last week.

Run, by @blueteddy

Please be sure to welcome @blueteddy to Steemit. This lovely 50-word story was her first post!

Her hesitation broke. Bare feet struck blades of grass in a rhythm as old as the earth flying by beneath her. Auburn hair whipped the sky in defiance of the gravity that had ever dared tame it. Her rekindled spirit consumed her fear leaving only an intense hunger for freedom.

A Teenager’s Dilemma, by @khadija14

New Fifty Worder, @khadija14, provides a very poignant view into the experience of someone with depression.

Depression crept in; a practiced thief indeed.
Sneaking in through the cracks of inkling dark, it kept her running round in circles before cornering her.
Still oblivious, she stumbled, bound by the murky night.
Unawareness was grave. Crumbling amongst the jigsaw of realization and despair, the rat-race stole her life.

War of the Third Worlds, by @anikekirsten

This story is a must-read, as it includes not only a wonderful, well-told 50-word story, but also some very interesting history on South Africa.

Blood runs through the soil as Jacob lowers, steadying his rifle on the ground. Grains fly into the air with each breath. Rooinekke race up the adjacent hill toward his brothers on the other side. Enemy in cross-hairs. Contracting his finger, he pauses.

This isn’t the way to defeat hate.

Chasing Visions, by @alheath

What does Rob see?

“RUN!” Rob's voice was hoarse. Beads of sweat rolled down his face. His eyes were bulging.
“Look! The goblin! It's getting away!”
Crickets echoed through the forest. Trees were swaying in the breeze.
This confirmed Mara's fears. Something had happened to Rob.
There was no goblin there.

Don’t run, by @negativer

@negativer captures a terrible moment for an up-and-coming professional.

My first presentation to the board. My career hinged on this, but I was confident.
I strode to the podium.
All eyes on me, but they stared at my legs. I glanced down past the hem of my skirt.
The longest pantyhose run in the world gaped back at me.

Wild and Free, by @creatr

You must go to this one to see the lovely wild horse pictures!

Canter fast as the wind
Gallop down through the dale
Trot beyond a far hill
With the herd at your tail.

Roaming wild and free
Like the child in me
Pace alongside still waters
Pause beneath a green tree

Harness, saddle, and bit,
Left behind;
With abandon, run!
Liberty find.

River, by @happyhairdays

The author tells a lovely story of a river's lifecycle.

Bubbling up as a little spring in the sky; growing as she goes. For fun she leaps off cliffs, in her white dress. She meanders as new backdrops pop up. As her thousand mile journey nears its end; she is weary as she makes her final run to the sea.

Excellent work, everyone!

This week's 50-word story prompt

The prompt for this week is “fence.” I look forward to reading your stories, Fifty Worders!

Guidelines


Please review carefully. Images must follow the Proper use of images guidelines below.

  1. Write a story in 50 words. (It's especially cool if you can hit 50 words exactly!)
  2. Use the #fiftywords tag, and post the link in the comments of this post.
  3. Be sure to read and upvote the work of the other participants. It's all about community!
  4. Use only artwork that you have the right to use, and attribute it properly. See the following guidelines.

Proper use of images


Proper use of images means one of the following:

  1. The image is public domain, or under creative commons licensing rules.
  2. It is your own image.
  3. If it is not one of the above, you must have actual permission.

Be sure to properly attribute the image’s source or mention that the image is yours. And if it's not public domain, under creative commons license, or your own image, be sure to state that you have permission.

I have two resources for you, from my friends at @thewritersblock:

And speaking of @thewritersblock, if you would like editing help for your stories before posting them, follow #thewritersblock tag to find them on Discord.

Deadline for this week: Saturday, June 30th.

The 50-word story clan

I'm mentioning you here if have participated in the #fiftywords short story challenge in the past. Please let me know if you would like your tag removed in this or future posts. (Note that I do trim the list. Those who have not participated for a long time or are not active on Steemit will eventually drop from the mentions.)

@ablaze, @adigitalife, @aggroed, @agmoore, @ahmadmanga, @akdx, @aksounder, @alexandered, @alheath, @anikekirsten, @anixio, @anonymummy
@bagpuss, @beginningtoend, @blueteddy, @botefarm @brandonsadventur, @bryarose23
@caleblailmusik, @carn, @cheekah, @cizzo, @clacrax, @creatr
@damianjayclay, @deirdyweirdy, @desmoniac, @diebitch, @dirge, @divineinyang, @donnest
@eaglespirit, @elementm, @emwalker, @enjar, @eroticabian, @esttyb, @evgsk
@feebie, @felt.buzz, @ficciones, @foxfiction, @foxyspirit
@galactichunter, @girlbeforemirror, @godwine
@happyhairdays, @hope-k
@iamthegray, @intheory, @isa93
@jadams2k18, @janine-ariane, @jakeybrown, @jayna, @jonknight, @josecarrasquero
@kaelci, @kally, @khadija14, @kimberlylane, @kingernie, @ktfabler
@ldacey-laforge, @lightoj, @liverussian, @lucylin, @luiskrupaz
@Mammasitta, @marie-jay, @mark-dahl, @mgaft1, @mineopoly, @miniature-tiger, @mizdais, @momzillanc, @mydivathings
@navaneeth, @negativer, @niallon11
@olakunle10
@paintingangels, @papacrusher, @phillyc, @pixiehunter, @poeticnest, @preparedwombat, @prydefoltz, @puppetmaster1111, @purpledaisy57, @pyrowngs
@ravencorinn, @riottales, @rodrigocabrera
@sharoonyasir, @spalatino, @sue-stevenson, @sukhasanasister
@tanglebranch, @thatlovechild, @theblackcrow, @theironfelix, @therosepatch, @tiatu, @tinkerrose, @tuwore, @tygertyger
@vaitelavicius, @vdux, @vivek-g
@wa2qr, @wales, @whitelite, @wordsalmighty, @wylde
@zen-art

About the 50-word challenge


This weekly 50-word challenge starts off each Sunday with a one-word prompt. Participants use the prompt to create a micro-fiction story in just 50 words. For more info and inspiration: check out the recent post about this project, Fifty-word challenge: FAQs, ideas, motivation and showcase.

Thanks so much for reading! If you haven’t yet written a story in 50 words, try it. It's a really amazing challenge to see what can unfold in a mere 50 words!

jayna_gifsignature.gif

Sort:  

Oh my. That is a powerful 50-word story!

Thank-you.

Great job, early bird!

Lovely angle on the use of the prompt.

Thanks for your entry in last week's challenge, @therosepatch! I'm catching up. :-)

You manage to make another #fiftywords contest...
Thank you @jaynas-minime, you're awesome!

Thank you, @anixio! I'm back!!

You came after a long gap. I was just thinking about your challenge but I was too busy. I'll try to post for fiftywordschallenge.

Sounds good!

Welcome back! Your comment suggests that you have recovered your account @jayna back.

I have indeed! Thank you!!

Here is my entry. Great that we kicked off with the contest again...

https://steemit.com/fiftywords/@happyhairdays/fifty-word-challenge-submission-01

Welcome to the new 50 word people! Hoping I can work something up with that word tomorrow ^_^ Thank you for keeping it going despite your account having problems. ;)

Always a good day when I can post my 50 Word Story for your weekly challenge :)

Mind the Gap

I think, you've touched on a bigger fear of mine (as a kid).

Yeah, I was afraid of heights... but what if the bridge collapses OR
the railing fails...

Yes, dad has to be constantly vigilant, when there are little ones around!

Finally done with #fiftyword story.And looks like I'm an early bird this time!!Here is my entry:
https://steemit.com/esteem/@khadija14/50-word-flashfiction-challenge-the-longest-distance

You've taken me on a long slow agonising journey between the head and the heart in only 50 words... I felt the bumpy ride too.

That is such a beautiful, poignant and heartrending story, @khadija14.

Ouch! Is he in hot water, or what!?

Lovely succinct story, with lots of drama to unfold.

Hullo :) Here is my entry for this week! ~ https://steemit.com/poetry/@kaelci/separated-by-white-pickets

Very charming. And such a nice ending!

Thank you. :) ~ I have trouble with nice endings, I'm more of a dark and depressing story-ender usually.

A sweet poem that filled with romance.

I may be hooked.....Here is my entry for this week's prompt.

https://steemit.com/fiftywords/@papacrusher/balancing-act-fiftywords-challenge

Ha ha! There are worse things to be addicted to!

I believe you are a world class "word gymnast" - @papacrusher

@jayna @jaynas-minime here's my piece. I feel like I finally did something right lol https://steemit.com/fiftywords/@anonymummy/on-the-fence-a-fifty-word-challenge

Yes, you did! This is an intense 50-word poem -- and proper image sourcing. Great job.

not a very popular piece though. It seems the subject is repellent to the other writers? but thankyou I was starting to doubt my work!

I personally believe we should never shy away from the tough subjects. Keep writing and build trust with readers. If you develop a consustent voice and support others, you will see that they will support you almost no matter what you choose as your subject matter. There are certainly safer subjects that resonate with more people. But you need to decide what your goals are.

well I've always been melodramatic lol. and controversial by nature. I'll stick with my heart on this. only a heart can touch another heart. this is why poetry was invented.

Awe, what a delightful poem! I'm pleased for the upgrades...

Well done! And thank you for being a regular contributor to this challenge!

Yer very welcome. I love contributing to things like this.

Glad you you still kept up with the contest and eventually got your account back @jayna

Here's mine: https://steemit.com/fiftywords/@cizzo/over-the-fence-to-freedom-50-word-story

Me too! Back to our regularly scheduled program starting tomorrow. :-)

A really last minute entry for me this week!! Been crazy busy...
https://steemit.com/fiftywords/@ablaze/always-make-time-for-the-chat

I really hope you recover your account @jaynas-minime I really like the prompt this week.

Thank you! I got my account back. Yay!

Very clever!

I really enjoyed that. I can't stop laughing at the humour of the situation...

Good to see you @esttyb! Please check your link. It takes me to a Pixabay image, instead of your 50-word story.

Thanks for the observation @jayna. Error rectified!

Excellent! Thank you for fixing that.

Thanks again for running this for everyone, here's my entry:
https://steemit.com/fiftywords/@blueteddy/50-words-fence

To sum it up.. A nostalgic story ending in dashed dreams!?

I enjoyed this one, but it's a little sad upon reflection! Everything is temporary, even we are!

Your story is a beautiful retrospective piece, @blueteddy!

You're so amazing @jayna. Still came through with this week's prompt... More grace and blessings for you. Great job

Oh, thank you for the kind words!

Good job to the new people and people that got highlighted, can't wait for more people to be added to that § and more to join!

Congratulations to all of us participating
It is such a great deal for me to be involved.
Let's try it out this week.

Hello all,
This is my first time joining this challenge and I hope you'll like my story.
Thank you

https://steemit.com/fiftywords/@roxy-cat/fifty-words-challenge-or-or-age-and-limitations-8d288d526200c

Hello dear, welcome and glad you've decide to give this a go! What an adorable lil' boy you have - awe too cute for words.

I love your take on the prompt!

Here is my own story, my friends! https://steemit.com/fiction/@jayna/missing-you-a-50-word-short-story.

As you will see if you read this, I am itching to write more stories for this prompt. Once I get some other "to-do's" done, I may do so.

Still thinking of writing one? There's still a bit of time before I post the new prompt!

Well written and very descriptive.

I do enjoy doing these 50 word challenges over my morning coffee. It's taken me a couple of days, to produce the second submission. Perhaps there may even be time for a third. ;)

https://steemit.com/fiftywords/@happyhairdays/fifty-word-challenge-submission-02

Hi, Jayna,

I hope your account recovery is moving forward apace...

Here's what you drew out of me this week:

Fortuitous Frustration

Bless you!

😄😇😄

@creatr

With sturdy fence - a crisis is averted!

One unhappy donkey. One relieved mare owner...

Yes, indeed. Thanks.

Congratulations @jaynas-minime! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

woohoo, didn't see this until now. "Fence" This should be interesting

Congratulations @jaynas-minime! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Round of 16 - Day 4


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @jaynas-minime! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!