The Valora Chronicles: Chapter 1: A visit from the Angel of Death:

in #fiction4 years ago

Image9.jpg

Valora’s safehouse, Mexico City, Mexico:

Valora laid back on her hammock in the backyard of the house, adjusting her sunglasses, calmly sipping on a mojito. Samantha was busy on the computer, the MIT graduate and all around geniuses custom made encryption, security and vpn style safeguards helping ensure that tracking the group would be nigh impossible. Abbigail was also present, looking over at Valora. “Okay so here’s where I’m confused. You have your own private island in the Caribbean, yes?”

Valora takes a sip of her mojito and smirks. “Si.”

Abbigail nods. “Something most people can’t even dream of having.. And only a few people know where it is, right?”

Valora nods. “Yeap.”

Abbigail nods. “So...why aren’t we there?”

Valora took another sip of her mojito and took a deep breath. “You know how when you’re a kid they tell you if you get lost, to just stay where you are?” Abbigail nods. Valora points at her. “Reason for that is if you stay put it makes it real God Damn easy for any shit with basic military or police skills to find you. Or anyone intelligent enough to just go up and down until they find you. Welcome to my life, chica. Constantly on the move to stay one and a half steps ahead of the people who want you dead.. And if you join the Rebels of Society.. You better get used to this and take fuckin’ notes. Also, I need to visit someone and give him a reminder he isn’t as safe as he thinks he is.”

Samantha cuts in here as she scoffs. “What is it between you and Allen Anderson anyways? I mean besides the fact he brainwashed you. I mean if you hate him so much why don’t you kill him?” Valora is silent for a moment until finally the awkward silence is broken as the glass shatters in her hand. Valora doesn’t even scream, just stares at the cuts in her hand, the blood running from them, calmly waiting for the problem to tend to itself. “It’s hard to put into words. I surprised him. Impressed him. When he first brought me on, he thought he was just getting another thug. Another mindless barbarian, he likes to phrase it. Then he met me. He saw how skilled I was at manipulation. I had convinced the whole world I was just some mindless barbarian. Only to show him my true intellect, creativity and ability. We both consider violence to be an artform. Best of all, I gave him results. When he assigned me to a task, he knew it would get done.” Valora pauses as she calmly picks the glass shards out of her hand and takes a long look at her hand and shrugs. “Anyways, long story short., we seem to be bound up with each other. Unable to kill each other for some weird reason but also eternally disappointed with each other. We have our own little Magneto and Professor X shit going on. But, I want him to know that I can kill him, whenever I want. Even if I haven’t yet. Maybe I can make him paranoid enough to make a mistake.”

Abbigail nods. “Are you really this good? I mean everyone seems to want you on their side? Why?” Valora smirks. “Because chica.. In addition to being a whiz at psychological warfare, I’m also an expert at Asymmetric warfare.” Abbigail gave her a blank look and Valora laughed. “You would know it by another name. Insurgency, whether that insurgency is noble freedom fighters or terrorists depends on politics and Special forces units often use similar tactics but at the end of the day, its all pretty close to the same thing. Ares is trying to launch an insurgency” Abbigail leans against the doorway as she listens and nods. “You say that like you don’t think he will succeed.”

Valora sighs a bit sadly. “If he doesn’t get some brains on his side, he won’t. I’ve seen Ares’ type before. He’s reactionary. He reacts to what’s happening now. That can be good for short term crisis management, but his lack of ability to see the big picture and ability to plan ahead could make things difficult. If you and Sato help him out, I hope he listens to you two.” Abbigail nods. “And why won’t you join?” Valora smirks. “I don’t take orders well, and it wouldn’t be right for me to take over Ares’ baby. Just because I don’t join doesn’t mean I don’t agree with what he’s trying to do.. And the moment he starts thinking that anyone not with him is against him.. Well that will be the moment his little revolution dies around him.. Or worse he wins and replaces one dictator with another.” Valora said as she stood up and stretched out. Valora turns towards the door as if getting ready to leave but Abbigail stands in her way. “You said you were willing to help him.”

Valora narrows her eyes a bit. “No, Chica. I didn’t. I said if my people decided to go along with him, I would assist his operation. But he’s about to learn that people don’t all think alike. Oh, one more thing…” Valora says before darting into movement too fast for Abbigail to see, but Abbigail is flat on her back, Valora looking down on her, her face hovering inches from her protege’s. “Guess Sato and Ares aren’t better teachers than me.. Word to the wise.. Don’t pick a fight you can’t win. I was gonna bring you with tonight, but I guess I’m working solo. I want you to sit and watch with Samantha.” Abbigail blinks. “Why?!” Valora narrows her eyes again. “To see why you don’t want to be on my bad side.”

A few hours later, Hotel UOW is using while in Mexico:

Samantha and Abbigail sit in front of a big screen monitor, watching things unfold. Each has their own headset allowing them to speak to and hear Valora. Abbigail looks a little nervous. “Am I watching you kill people?” Valora smirks. “Actually, any idiot can kill someone. I’m going for skill and finesse. Watch and learn, chica.”

Abbigail mutes her headset. “God damn her! So fuckin’ arrogant….” Samantha smiles. “She’s earned it, Abs.” The two see things start as Valora’s van pulls up. Valora steps out, dressed as a member of the kitchen staff and slips in with no problem, the Federale on duty nodding and letting her go in, stopping her. “Wait… I missed dinner.. What’s on in the kitchen?” Valora answered in her native Spanish without thinking. ‘Tacos. Taco Salad. Burritos, enchiladas fajita.. God damn Americans want their crap food, made their way.” The cop groaned. “Fuck...I’m gonna shit for a week straight.” He said, with a quick thank you and slipped Valora a 10 peso bill. Valora smiles, pocketing the money. “De Nada, Señor.” She says, entering the hotel’s kitchen. Abbigail sat jaw agape. “...How?” Valora smirks, speaking barely above a whisper in reality yet Abbigail and Samantha hear her as if she were talking normally. “Recon, chica. And I know how the racist fucks that run MOX. Andersen likely ordered this too.. A petty insult to irk my ire.” She says making her way through the kitchen. A few moments later, she steps out of a nearby bathroom, dressed in a maid’s uniform. Stepping into the hotel proper, UOW security steps forward. “Who are you?” Samantha goes to work and hacks in, adding Valora’s disguised face. Just in time, it turns out as after hearing her answer, the guard grabs Valora’s chin and lifts her head, scanning her face and checking. Hmm.. Maid. Make sure you leave a mint on my pillow.” Valora smirks. “Si, Senor. I take care of everything.” She says before getting his room number and heading off, muttering under her breath. “Oh, I’ll leave you something alright, racist fuck.”

Valora makes her way up, Abbigail and Samantha witness as she stops first at the man’s room. She looks around and takes his name badge and rolls her eyes. “This is the problem with most rent-a-cops. They aren’t too bright.” Valora says as she takes a swiper from her pocket and swipes the badge, cloning it. She then sets the name badge on the pillow. Samantha chimes in. “If you’re done harassing security guards for minor insults.. The task at hand awaits.” Valora rolls her eyes. “Yeah, yeah, yeah.. Always rushing me…” She grabs her copy of the cloned badge and leaves the room.

A few minutes and another change later, Valora steps out of a bathroom, adjusting her tie. “Dammit Sam.. Bitch wasn’t as big in the chest as I am.. Shirt’s all tight now..” Abbigail smirks. “Did you just complain about having big tits?” She asks, sticking her tongue out. Valora nods. “They can be a pain in the ass at times, ya fuckin’ smartass.” Valora mutters before making her way over to the door leading to the private floor for UOW corporate officers.. And Allen Andersen. When she speaks to the guard at the door, she speaks with a Southern accent. “God damn.. I stay here much longer Imma look like these god damn animals..” The guard laughs. “Already are!” They both share a laugh as Valora swipes her card and the other guard opens the door for her. Valora nods. “Much obliged.” She said and went through the door. After it closed behind her, Valora allowed herself a smirk. “Oh man..Anderson is gonna fire some people after this…Severance included.” Abbigail hmms. “Huh… well that’s good, right?” Valora smirks. Not when Anderson’s idea of ‘severance’ is decapitation or severing a limb from the body. He doesn’t take kindly to failure. Real or perceived.”

Valora rounds the corner and stops abruptly, “Shit!” Abbigail and Samantha, both alarmed but the urgency in her voice respond in unison. “What?!” Valora peeks around the corner and the two see a corporate office, where Allen Anderson is speaking to Boris and Dasha. Valora narrows her eyes. “God damn commie puta..” Abbigail cuts in. “Valora… focus.” Valora takes a deep breath. “She’s supposed to be a friend.. Fine. Just add her to the list.” She says before taking a small disc from her pocket and tosses it. It sticks to the glass with a noise masked by the conversation inside. Samantha hits a button…

Dasha: “So You Sato, Dillinger, Rage, and Boris in ring against Valora? “So why ask us here? It seems you have good plan, why add Boris?”

Allen Andersen smirked as he looked from Dasha to her monster. He said exactly what was on his mind. “Because you and I are a lot alike, Dasha. We both find, tame and control monsters, and wield them as needed to destroy our enemies. It’s clear to everyone you’re the brains of your operation and Boris destroys those you need removed.”

Abbigail immediately cuts in. “Val..Sato isn’t part of this. They’re not-” Valora cuts her off. “Not. Here. We discuss this here, I get emotional. I blow the op. Focus.” Abbigail nods and looks at Samantha. “You believe me, right? He has no idea about this…” Samantha takes a deep breath. “You’re asking the wrong person. I have a genius level IQ and used to work for various intelligence outlets.. My opinion of humanity can’t really get much lower. For the record, I think Anderson is trying to cause infighting. Val knows that too. You have to give her the benefit of the doubt too.”

Valora, meanwhile, found herself standing in the living quarters of Allen Anderson’s apartment. Now was the hard part. She could poison him, but she didn’t want that. That would be too easy. Too quick. First things, first, she thought to herself as she walked and gently set down a small digital record. Set right next to where Anderson would rest his glass of scotch. Like right next to it, as if Valora knew the exact spot he would set his glass of scotch. When Anderson played it, he would hear a pre-recorded message from Valora:

“Mr. Anderson…. Sorry, couldn’t resist. Anyways, as you have no doubt realized. This message from me tells you your security needs serious improvements. Good help is so hard to find these days, isn’t it? I mean Warhammer grunts weren’t much better.. It’s why you needed me, right? Now, I know what you’re thinking. Relax. Your alcohol is not poisoned. As a connoisseur of alcohol myself, I wouldn’t pollute the high quality stuff you have. Also, you deserve better. But I did leave a surprise for you. I’ll let you and your people worry about finding it. Enjoy. Now, to the main point of this. Don’t think I haven’t noticed what you’re playing at. Sato. An ally you know you can not rely on to do your bidding. Boris, Dasha’s grunt and I’m sure she’s telling you right now how she kinda likes me. Eric Dillinger, a rookie off the street. Hungry, likely eager to make a name for himself, might be manipulatable for you but you don’t like words like ‘might’ ‘maybe’ ‘possibly’ No, Allen… When you set your mind to something, you want to be as sure of success as possible. Think Rage gives you that? Or do you have another surprise for me?”

Valora’s message has a pause before she continues.

“No. I think this is a gift for me, disguised as punishment. You know exactly what I will do when backed up against the wall, outnumbered. I imagine Boris is your security measure. If your ‘team’ wins, his orders are to bring me to you, assuming you can trust him to do that and not bring me to Dasha instead. But I think you’re hoping to show me who I really am.”

sigh

“I know who and what I am, Allen. I’m sure there’s a universe out there somewhere where I’m the good little monster you hoped for. You’re king of the world and I’m.. well whatever the fuck you see me as. Let’s talk about that, Allen. What am I to you? Means to an end? No, I’m too dangerous for that. Monster? Maybe but you’ve been… genuinely kind to me in the past.”

pause again, Valora breathes, thinking then lets out a disbelieving laugh.

“I think I figured it out, Allen. Don’t worry I won’t insult you by making this sexual. You’re old enough to be my...huh. That’s where I fit isn’t it? The daughter you never had. The potential successor to your kingdom when your time inevitably comes..”

Another sigh and pause

“For what it’s worth. I’m sorry. I guess in this universe we both have to settle for me being the black sheep. People like you and me, Allen.. We can’t be leaders. We can’t sit on the throne. Because we bring death. It’s all we do. Aren’t you tired of it, Allen? The growing mountain of corpses behind you, in front of you, all around you? God damn.. I’m sure getting tired of the voices.. The torment of the people I killed.. Who died because of me.. I don’t know how the fuck you stay sane. Respect.”

A final pause and determined sigh

“I’m going to bring your kingdom down. Respect for you will not stop me from doing that. Send 4 people, 8 people.. Fuck book my ass against the whole fuckin’ roster if you want to. Just remember….

You will always be within my reach and, I hold your life in my hand. Think about that the next time you plan to cause pain and misery. The Angel of Death is watching you, padre. Next time, it might be more than a personalized message I leave.”

Valora made her way out of the hotel, smirking to herself as she dumped her last disguise and was walking along the street, blending in, just another face in the crowd.

Blending in with her people.

Abbigail looked to Samantha as they wrapped up and sighed. “Remind me never to get on her bad side.” Samantha smirked. “You know, I think she’d be willing to teach you. You ever think maybe she sees you as more than just a wrestling student? I know you’re caught up with this big movement you and Sato have been spending time with, but you might have options, you know.”

Abbigail nods. “I’ll think about it and talk to her about it. Thanks.”

Sort:  

Congratulations @kronin! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 10 replies. Your next target is to reach 50 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP