The Technologies of God- A Serial Micro-Fiction 1/24

in #fiction3 years ago (edited)

I wake up in a dark room. Disoriented. Instinctively, I realize that waking up in a dark room with your head scrambled up is not a good thing. My body reacts, and I try to stand up. Except there is no standing up because there is no up, or down for that matter. I am floating in micro-g!

I freak out and flail my arms, reaching out for something to hold on to. But there is only emptiness.

Abstract_0001.jpg

Eventually, I calm down and try to concentrate on my breath. Let's think this through. The last thing I remember is Goa. The Russian redhead at the club. What was her name? We danced, had a few drinks, and went back to her shack on the beach. I don’t remember anything else after that. I just woke up, and here I was in outer space.

But you are breathing. Yes, I am breathing. Oxygen. Good quality, not the kind that smells like burnt steak, but the kind that smells like alpine meadows. Crisp. Clean.

You are not cold or hot. Correct. The temperature is perfectly calibrated to my body. Only an intelligent bio-thermal regulator can do that. Those toys are pricey.

You can hear sound. Subtle ambient noises that break the monotony of silence without driving you bonkers. An aural simulator. Classy. My captors seem to have expensive taste.

"Hello..." I say tentatively at the darkness.

The darkness responds, "hello, Mr. Crick"

"Who are you? What am I doing here? Where-?"

"I know you have many questions, Mr. Crick," says the female voice. "I assure you that they will be answered in due time. But first, you must acclimatize yourself to this micro-gravity environment- physically as well as mentally. This process will take a few weeks, and we would very much appreciate your cooperation."

The holographic image of a woman materializes in the darkness.

"My name is Tattiana,” she says. “I will be your instructor. Are you ready for your first lesson?"


Read other parts

Part 1
Part 2
Part 3
Part 4

Sort:  

Hi litguru,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiehive.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you!