Prologue - The Lady and The Doctor.

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)

[Fanfiction/ Bilingue English and Brazilian Portuguese]

All the stories that begin with "Once upon a time" have the tendency of being fanciful, it's true, so, to tell the story of this man, I decided not to talk about "Once upon a time." Mainly because I do not quite know how it started.

So I decided to tell everything from my perspective ... I mean, you might even ask: But, what do you know about this man? Or who are you? Well, I do not pretend to say that I was an exceptionally important person, many people even like me. I used to like to say that I was the wife of this wonderful man, but I was only a detail in his story and he in mine, and it is true to say that when they met me I had many names, but I'm just another Time Lady born on this planet called Gallifrey.

Several legends were created about him, on many planets as well as about me; some humans have had the pleasure of living with him for a bit of time, but who in fact is the Last of the Time Lords? Moreover, what about a man with several names? He can be anyone in time and space, after all, whoever he may be, can be part of our legends and our myths, and he could be the prince who killed the dragon. He could be the doctor who saved the lives of his little children in the hospital.
He could be anyone. Perhaps a great genius who instigated men in their discoveries. However, he was what he was: The Doctor.

Yes, I know, now comes the phrase that you know and every time he appears, the two words come up. I am already used to it and I will not be surprised when you say, "Doctor? Doctor who?"

Everyone out there knows him out there as Doctor ... synonymous with a man of great scholarly knowledge, a wise man, a healer, and even a savior. Doctor ... Doctors permeate our knowledge, doctors of the law, and doctors of life, what kind of doctor is that?

"Only Doctor," he will tell us. "Only Doctor"

Is "Doctor" a proper name? Like Babeth, Elisabeth, Anna, Caroline, Mary, Victor, Clara, David, William, Colin, Peter, Patrick, Sylvester, Jon?

Who is this man who enters and leaves our lives?

Well, for me it was just a friend from high school. He grew up, I grew up. He was exiled, and I was a bit of everything ... and it all started in the line of the Fire Ritual, a long, long time ago.


Todas as histórias que começam com “Era uma vez” tem por hábito serem fantasiosas, é verdade, por isso, pra contar a história deste homem, resolvi não falar de “Era uma vez”. Mesmo porque, não sei muito bem como ela começou.

Resolvi então contar tudo da minha perspectiva... quer dizer, você pode até perguntar: Mas, o que é que você sabe sobre esse homem? Ou ainda, quem é você? Bom, não tenho a pretensão de dizer que fui alguém excepcionalmente importante, muitos sequer gostam de mim, gostava de dizer que era esposa deste maravilhoso homem, mas fui só um detalhe na história dele e ele na minha, e é fato dizer que quando me conheceram eu tinha vários e vários nomes, mas eu sou apenas mais uma
Senhora do Tempo nascida neste planeta chamado Gallifrey.

Várias lendas foram criadas em torno dele, em muitos planetas, assim como em torno de mim, alguns humanos tiveram o prazer de conviver com ele por um pedaço de tempo, mas, quem de fato é o Último dos Senhores do Tempo? E o que dizer de um homem com vários nomes? Ele pode ser qualquer um no tempo e no espaço, afinal, quem quer que ele seja, pode ser parte de nossas lendas e nossos mitos. Poderia ser o príncipe que matava o dragão. Poderia ser o médico que salvou a vida de seus filhinhos no hospital. Poderia ser qualquer pessoa. Talvez um grande gênio que instigava os homens em suas descobertas. Entretanto, ele era o que era: O Doutor.

Sim, eu sei que agora vem a frase que você tanto conhece e todas as vezes que ele se apresenta surgem as duas palavras. Já estou acostumada e não me surpreenderei quando você disser: “Doutor? Doutor quem?”
Todos o conhecem por aí como Doutor... sinônimo de homem de grande conhecimento acadêmico, de sábio, de curandeiro, até mesmo de salvador. Doutor... Doutores permeiam nosso conhecimento, doutores das leis, doutores da vida, que tipo de doutor é esse?

“Apenas Doutor”, ele nos dirá. “Apenas Doutor”

Seria “Doutor” um nome próprio? Como Babeth, Elisabeth, Anna, Caroline, Mary, Victor, Clara, David, William, Colin, Peter, Patrick, Sylvester, Jon?

Quem é esse homem que entra e sai de nossas vidas?

Bem, pra mim era só um amigo de escola. Ele cresceu, eu cresci. Ele foi exilado, e eu fui de tudo um pouco... e tudo começou na fila do Ritual do Fogo, há muito, muito tempo atrás.