Fable; Nigeria 0 VS 99 India

in #fiction4 years ago

sc0tu2sm6d.jpgsource

On Sunday evening, I was sharing some old stories and memories with my brother. Then, he reminded me the widespread fable of football match between Nigeria and India.
I posted it on my whatsapp status and my friends gave their stories differently.
4ljo6rpagw.png

Here is a perfect narration by a friend(i'm sure he's a victim of the fable too
ENJOY READING!

Nigeria played India that year, it was a very serious football match, I'm telling you, the whole world witnessed what was said to be an unbelievable event.

Nigeria keeper, Soromu, was tensed, and every ball shot at him would transform to Lions, rocks, Cheetahs and all scary stuffs.. He had to concede goals up to 99 goals. It was a sad story.

Then they said if Nigeria could score 1, that we had won,and there came Oparaji with his magical feet, he dribbled and dribbled, he was fouled, we heard the much anticipated sound of the whistle, Penalty to Nigeria!
We were so joyous as we thought we had a chance of winning the game with just a single goal.

Oparaji stood in front of the ball, he overhead someone from the crowd said if he could unlace his boots to play the penalty kick, that he would score, that was the remedy of the "charm", the great Oparaji bent down to unlace his boots, he dropped the ball on the spot.
Luckily for Nigerians and unluckily for Oparaji, that spot was where India buried the "charm", and he approached the ball, he placed a nice shot from the spot, and huge noise stormed the stadium, "Oparaji scores for Nigeria!!", we were so happy that day, we were joyous, but Oparaji couldn't stand up, because he accidentally kicked the charm out of the ground. And that caused his sudden death😰😰, Oparaji died like a hero, may his soul rest in perfect peace.
Nigeria will never forget the great Oparaji.. 😭😭

Lol... Each time I remember this fable, I would be like wow! And give credit to the man who formed it.
Actually I'm still looking for the man behind the fable, I owe him something priceless...lol.

Sort:  

The post was shared in this tweet