You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Calling All Authors Of High Quality Fiction

in #fiction7 years ago

I've been writing fiction on here for 6 months (I like to think it's Ok) I've been approached by your group and when I ask how to take advantage of it, I get some Discord channel but no instructions about what to do. Maybe if you made it understandable to people of "that certain age" that don't possess the tech gene, you'd get more responses... unless you don't want us.

Sort:  

Hey Rich! I know I'm one of the people who's approached you and I'm sorry if I haven't been clear on how to participate. I'm also not sure how you reconcile these two statements: "I've been approached by your group" and "unless you don't want us." I'm about to be as specific as possible on how you can participate in the workshop, but first I need to clear the air a bit.

At the risk of sounding defensive, I must point out that @Rhondak spends almost all day every day and most of every night in that workshop. Rather than writing her own posts and cashing in on them, she is helping other people do so at a higher quality than before. So I guess I am a little defensive when someone so generous with her time is accused of age-discrimination. I'm being very nice about it because you and I have had a report here on the site, so I'm giving you the benefit of the doubt that your frustration got the better of you in that comment. But it was uncalled for.

The reason we keep giving you a link to the Discord channel is because that is where we all meet to discuss our work. There is no other way to participate in the workshop than to join it on Discord. That is the workshop.

The way to participate is to sign up for Discord through the link provided (here it is again if you need it) and say "Hello" to the room. Then we will know you are there and can welcome you.

Discord can seem intimidating in the beginning, but it doesn't require any more of a "tech gene" than Steemit and I see you are getting on well here, so you should be fine getting onto it. Especially since the link is a direct path to the workshop. It is no more technical than opening an email account. Once you're in, type "Hello" and 99% of the time someone will be there to welcome you.

If you are wondering what participation will consist of once you are there, here is a post I did yesterday on that very thing: Tips for Fiction Part 4 - Work(shop) that Thang!.

I hope this clarifies things for you, and I hope you don't retain the incredibly mistaken impression that the workshop is unfriendly to people of any age. If you can navigate Steemit, you can make it into the workshop. I hope to see you there!

I'm a grandma. . .so I might be a certain age-y myself. . . .