Mystery of the Coronation Sword-Introductions

in #fiction7 years ago

Hi Everyone! As I stated in my introduction, I am going to post sections of a Mystery Dinner I wrote and you all can guess the answer. Since this was written as an actual event, the first thing that had to happen was the introduction of the characters. Anything you read from this point forward may or may not be a clue! I hope you enjoy it!

Mystery of the Coronation Sword
By Stacie Boggess

The Royal sword, Lightning Blade, has been stolen. The Prince has come of age and is ready to take the throne but the ceremony cannot be performed without the royal family’s symbol of power. The disappearance of the sword has been kept quiet until now, but as coronation day approaches, the royal family has no choice but to call together all parties who may have knowledge of the swords whereabouts. The sword must be found or plans made to somehow retain power over the land.
You have all been summoned, by the Queen, to attend this secret inquiry. Either the sword will be found or all involved may lose their heads in order to keep the family secret just that…secret. Her Royal Majesty has called this inquiry to order.

Characters
King- I am the King of the realm of Spring Haven. I have ruled for many years but as of late, my wife, Margaret, has taken over the more mundane aspects of reigning. She claims I have become too forgetful to handle the day to day issues. I would complain but the freedom is WONDERFUL. She has been in meetings with the royal advisors lately though so I may have to put my foot down. I am not ready to give up the throne and no one will force me to do so.
Queen- It is true that I have ruled in all but name for the last few years. My husband, Harold, has always been a wise and benevolent king but lately his mind wanders and he is distracted. I have tried to protect the monarchy from these first signs of insanity but the kings advisors are threatening to expose this issue to the people if we do not allow the Prince to take the throne. In order to keep peace I have agreed, though there is no law against a Queen formally ruling. I am concerned that my son may not be the best thing for our kingdom, but he will rule someday. I would prefer it be while I can still exercise some power over him and maybe he will learn to care for the people.
Prince- The throne is going to be mine! After the coronation, I will be forced to marry the Princess of the Singing Mountains. I will do it in order to acquire the crown, but I’m afraid the Princess may have an unfortunate accident after our union. Once that is accomplished, the King of the Singing Mountains will have no heir and the people will revolt. I will move in and take control of both kingdoms. It will be my chance to show my strength and show the people of Spring Haven that their new King is not just beautiful but powerful! This sword thing is ridiculous. I will take the throne if it cannot be given to me.
Princess of the Singing Mountains- The Prince, my future husband, is a jerk. I will continue to fight this forced marriage until the very last second. Though the King and Queen seem nice their son is sneaky and mean. I don’t understand why Daddy doesn’t just invade this miserable kingdom and save me from a lifetime of misery with the Royal Narcissist. I want to go home!
King of the Singing Mountains- I know my daughter is furious with me. Young and energetic as she is, she would prefer war to marriage. She may come to love this Prince someday, but if not, it is her duty to do what is best for her kingdom. Peace is preferable to war at my age and the union of these two royal youngsters will strengthen both realms. The gifts my daughter has sent me recently shows how rich the Kingdom of Spring Haven has become and my gifts to her should show the monarchy that I am equally secure. She is so unhappy; I have decided to surprise her with a visit. I arrived to find that the monarchy is in chaos, though I cannot determine why.

Queens Lady in Waiting- The Queen is under so much pressure lately! The royal advisors are pushing her to crown the Prince due to the Kings recent behavior but deep down I know she feels it is wrong. I am very close to my Lady and feel badly for her plight. Though my station in life does not allow me to offer advice, I wish I could help her get through this. She needs more time to come to a decision about her terrible son. Under different circumstances I believe the Queen and I could be true friends. Secretly, she confides in me but I would never presume to suggest what is obvious to most of the staff. The Prince should never be allowed to take the thrown.
Jester- I have spent a lifetime turning everything into a joke but recent events have needed no help from me. The way I see it the Kingdom is crumbling. The King is losing his mind and the reign of his family is in jeopardy due to a missing sword. How does one lose ones symbol of power? If things go as planned, things will be very unhappy in the castle. If the sword is found, everyone is miserable. If it isn’t found, everyone is still miserable. Such is the life of the rich and powerful.
Duke of Lilly Glade- My family should be ruling! It was my ancestors who fought and bled on the battlefield to establish this kingdom. But NO! My Great, Great, Great, Great, Great Grandfather chose love over power and gave up the monarchy. He chose to become a land baron and marry a woman who was a commoner. I will get back the throne for my family if it is the last thing I ever do!
Royal Apothecary- I have always had a fascination with mixing various herbs and extracts and their effects on the human body. I have had the distinct pleasure of curing many ailments for the royal family but one of my cures went very wrong. The prince once tried to bribe me to poison the king. When I refused he said he would do it himself and if I told anyone of his plan I would pay with my head. I decided to create an antidote that I could give his Majesty in advance. The king never suffered from poison but once I secretly gave him my cure, he became a bit “touched” in the head. I’ve been trying to fix my mistake ever sense. In the meantime, I find the power I hold over the king quite intoxicating. With the right combination of pills, I can get whatever I want.
Royal Chef- I make extravagant meals daily, no matter who is in power. While I slave over a hot fire I dream of what I would do differently if I were Queen. The common-folk would definitely get a better shake then they will with the Prince in charge. I could take out the entire Royal Family with one tainted meal and use that lousy sword they are all looking for to cut my bread. The Royal Food Taster is a friend of mine though and I wouldn’t want to hurt a friend. I could if I wanted to though!

Royal Food Taster- The more discontent the Royal Chef becomes, the more worried I become. I think the entire group is nuts. The only reason I continue swallowing this food is because I couldn’t bare the thought of the Princess being harmed. She shouldn’t have to marry someone she doesn’t love and she is always kind to the staff. Sometimes I believe being born royal is a curse rather than a blessing.
Crown Jeweler- I have the best job in the kingdom! Who else gets to spend their days playing with priceless bobbles. Not only am I responsible for the crown jewels, but I get to create new and extravagant jewelry for the royal family. What I wouldn’t give to get my hands on the jewels from that sword. I could create a crown for the Prince’s wedding that would make monarchs from here to the sea jealous! Jewels such as those should not be on a sword. Anyone who possesses them could start their own kingdom!
Stable Boy- I am a grown man and yet I am still called boy! I love these animals though. Purebred beauties that received the finest care- mine. How the royal family can run these creatures all day long and then walk away with the horses still heavy laden and exhausted is beyond me. I’ve been known to pilfer their purses now and then but I always spend it on the horses. They never miss it. I collect everything else they leave behind and return it to the castle. You wouldn’t believe the things I find. They would lose their heads if they weren’t attached to their shoulders. I’ve found riches, freshly killed game, even that precious sword of theirs. I returned it though.
Blacksmith- My family has been in the blacksmithing business for generations and we are the finest smithies in the world. It was my family that turned that hunk of metal into the beautiful, jewel encrusted weapon of legend it is today. The Royal family is royal because of that sword. They barely ever even look at it much less wield it. Such a work of art should be treated with reverence, not thrown in a dark corner and then lost. I was approached by the Royal Messenger about possibly forging a replica, but was later told to forget I had ever been asked. Odd bunch! I would have lost my head over it anyway because my answer would have been NO!
Royal Messenger- My favorite part of this job is the secrets, but lately it’s just been confusing. Messages and packages are flying everywhere at all hours of the day and night. I’ve been so busy; I’ve had to recruit extra help. Between trip after trip to the smithy and presents going back and forth between the Princess and the King of the Singing Mountains for the celebration of their countries founding, I am exhausted. The loss of the sword is scandalous though. What monarch loses the symbol of their royalty? There may soon be a change in the winds in Spring Haven.

Lady High Treasurer- It is an honor to serve the kingdom in this capacity. I am good at my job and the royal coffers are full. I keep a close eye on all of the economic stability of the realm and consider the loss of the sword a great tragedy. They jewels are stunning, the craftsmanship beyond compare and the overall value, priceless. The symbol of my office is merely a white staff but I consider it sacred. To lose the coronation sword is unthinkable. Someone should take charge of this treasure to keep it safe. When returned, I will ask that it be placed in my keeping as I am one of the few who understand its value.

Characters
King- I am the King of the realm of Spring Haven. I have ruled for many years but as of late, my wife, Margaret, has taken over the more mundane aspects of reigning. She claims I have become too forgetful to handle the day to day issues. I would complain but the freedom is WONDERFUL. She has been in meetings with the royal advisors lately though so I may have to put my foot down. I am not ready to give up the throne and no one will force me to do so.
Queen- It is true that I have ruled in all but name for the last few years. My husband, Harold, has always been a wise and benevolent king but lately his mind wanders and he is distracted. I have tried to protect the monarchy from these first signs of insanity but the kings advisors are threatening to expose this issue to the people if we do not allow the Prince to take the throne. In order to keep peace I have agreed, though there is no law against a Queen formally ruling. I am concerned that my son may not be the best thing for our kingdom, but he will rule someday. I would prefer it be while I can still exercise some power over him and maybe he will learn to care for the people.
Prince- The throne is going to be mine! After the coronation, I will be forced to marry the Princess of the Singing Mountains. I will do it in order to acquire the crown, but I’m afraid the Princess may have an unfortunate accident after our union. Once that is accomplished, the King of the Singing Mountains will have no heir and the people will revolt. I will move in and take control of both kingdoms. It will be my chance to show my strength and show the people of Spring Haven that their new King is not just beautiful but powerful! This sword thing is ridiculous. I will take the throne if it cannot be given to me.
Princess of the Singing Mountains- The Prince, my future husband, is a jerk. I will continue to fight this forced marriage until the very last second. Though the King and Queen seem nice their son is sneaky and mean. I don’t understand why Daddy doesn’t just invade this miserable kingdom and save me from a lifetime of misery with the Royal Narcissist. I want to go home!
King of the Singing Mountains- I know my daughter is furious with me. Young and energetic as she is, she would prefer war to marriage. She may come to love this Prince someday, but if not, it is her duty to do what is best for her kingdom. Peace is preferable to war at my age and the union of these two royal youngsters will strengthen both realms. The gifts my daughter has sent me recently shows how rich the Kingdom of Spring Haven has become and my gifts to her should show the monarchy that I am equally secure. She is so unhappy; I have decided to surprise her with a visit. I arrived to find that the monarchy is in chaos, though I cannot determine why.
1
Queens Lady in Waiting- The Queen is under so much pressure lately! The royal advisors are pushing her to crown the Prince due to the Kings recent behavior but deep down I know she feels it is wrong. I am very close to my Lady and feel badly for her plight. Though my station in life does not allow me to offer advice, I wish I could help her get through this. She needs more time to come to a decision about her terrible son. Under different circumstances I believe the Queen and I could be true friends. Secretly, she confides in me but I would never presume to suggest what is obvious to most of the staff. The Prince should never be allowed to take the thrown.
Jester- I have spent a lifetime turning everything into a joke but recent events have needed no help from me. The way I see it the Kingdom is crumbling. The King is losing his mind and the reign of his family is in jeopardy due to a missing sword. How does one lose ones symbol of power? If things go as planned, things will be very unhappy in the castle. If the sword is found, everyone is miserable. If it isn’t found, everyone is still miserable. Such is the life of the rich and powerful.
Duke of Lilly Glade- My family should be ruling! It was my ancestors who fought and bled on the battlefield to establish this kingdom. But NO! My Great, Great, Great, Great, Great Grandfather chose love over power and gave up the monarchy. He chose to become a land baron and marry a woman who was a commoner. I will get back the throne for my family if it is the last thing I ever do!
Royal Apothecary- I have always had a fascination with mixing various herbs and extracts and their effects on the human body. I have had the distinct pleasure of curing many ailments for the royal family but one of my cures went very wrong. The prince once tried to bribe me to poison the king. When I refused he said he would do it himself and if I told anyone of his plan I would pay with my head. I decided to create an antidote that I could give his Majesty in advance. The king never suffered from poison but once I secretly gave him my cure, he became a bit “touched” in the head. I’ve been trying to fix my mistake ever sense. In the meantime, I find the power I hold over the king quite intoxicating. With the right combination of pills, I can get whatever I want.
Royal Chef- I make extravagant meals daily, no matter who is in power. While I slave over a hot fire I dream of what I would do differently if I were Queen. The common-folk would definitely get a better shake then they will with the Prince in charge. I could take out the entire Royal Family with one tainted meal and use that lousy sword they are all looking for to cut my bread. The Royal Food Taster is a friend of mine though and I wouldn’t want to hurt a friend. I could if I wanted to though!
2
Royal Food Taster- The more discontent the Royal Chef becomes, the more worried I become. I think the entire group is nuts. The only reason I continue swallowing this food is because I couldn’t bare the thought of the Princess being harmed. She shouldn’t have to marry someone she doesn’t love and she is always kind to the staff. Sometimes I believe being born royal is a curse rather than a blessing.
Crown Jeweler- I have the best job in the kingdom! Who else gets to spend their days playing with priceless bobbles. Not only am I responsible for the crown jewels, but I get to create new and extravagant jewelry for the royal family. What I wouldn’t give to get my hands on the jewels from that sword. I could create a crown for the Prince’s wedding that would make monarchs from here to the sea jealous! Jewels such as those should not be on a sword. Anyone who possesses them could start their own kingdom!
Stable Boy- I am a grown man and yet I am still called boy! I love these animals though. Purebred beauties that received the finest care- mine. How the royal family can run these creatures all day long and then walk away with the horses still heavy laden and exhausted is beyond me. I’ve been known to pilfer their purses now and then but I always spend it on the horses. They never miss it. I collect everything else they leave behind and return it to the castle. You wouldn’t believe the things I find. They would lose their heads if they weren’t attached to their shoulders. I’ve found riches, freshly killed game, even that precious sword of theirs. I returned it though.
Blacksmith- My family has been in the blacksmithing business for generations and we are the finest smithies in the world. It was my family that turned that hunk of metal into the beautiful, jewel encrusted weapon of legend it is today. The Royal family is royal because of that sword. They barely ever even look at it much less wield it. Such a work of art should be treated with reverence, not thrown in a dark corner and then lost. I was approached by the Royal Messenger about possibly forging a replica, but was later told to forget I had ever been asked. Odd bunch! I would have lost my head over it anyway because my answer would have been NO!
Royal Messenger- My favorite part of this job is the secrets, but lately it’s just been confusing. Messages and packages are flying everywhere at all hours of the day and night. I’ve been so busy; I’ve had to recruit extra help. Between trip after trip to the smithy and presents going back and forth between the Princess and the King of the Singing Mountains for the celebration of their countries founding, I am exhausted. The loss of the sword is scandalous though. What monarch loses the symbol of their royalty? There may soon be a change in the winds in Spring Haven.

Lady High Treasurer- It is an honor to serve the kingdom in this capacity. I am good at my job and the royal coffers are full. I keep a close eye on all of the economic stability of the realm and consider the loss of the sword a great tragedy. They jewels are stunning, the craftsmanship beyond compare and the overall value, priceless. The symbol of my office is merely a white staff but I consider it sacred. To lose the coronation sword is unthinkable. Someone should take charge of this treasure to keep it safe. When returned, I will ask that it be placed in my keeping as I am one of the few who understand its value.

Those are the players! Act One will be published next week!