The Date (Perfect Humans, Bonus Chapter)

in #fiction7 years ago

Picture

Short bonus chapter to the “Perfect Humans” series. Read Part 1, Part 2, Part 3, Part 4, Part 5, Part 6, Part 7, Part 8, Part 9, Part 10 of the story by clicking the links.

”So? What do you think?”

”I think”, Claire says, ”That this restaurant is absolutely perfect. But our agreement was lunch, not dinner.”

I grin. ”Well, I’ll be damned. Guess I’ll have to plan another date then.”

Claire sticks out her tongue and then laughs.

”I knew it, you just wanted to take me out again. I won’t ever get rid of you.”

”I already tried to leave you once. Not making the same mistake again.”

”I might though.”

”What?” The smile falls out of my face as I stare at Claire in shock.

”Yeah, I didn’t sign up to date a blonde, you know? I liked your natural hair color better. I miss the brown.”

”You’re such a dumbass”, I say, relieved that she is obviously just joking. ”You know exactly that I need to lay low for a bit. They’re looking for me.”

”I know, I know. Although I don’t think they could lock you away again, not without creating a public outrage. The last six months changed a lot. Half the country sided with the resistance and the discussions about how ethical the existence of designer babies is have started again.”

”Still. I’d prefer to keep a low profile. Not only for my sake.” I grab Claire’s hand and take it to my mouth to kiss it.

”Don’t worry, I’d visit you in prison. We can fake your death again, that was fun!”

”Ugh, don’t remind me. I sometimes feel like I’m still frozen. Definitely don’t need to repeat that experience. Oh, look, here comes our food!”

The waitress puts down two pasta dishes, one with fresh pesto and mozzarella and one with a salmon tomato sauce.

”Enjoy your meal!” The waitress says and leaves.

”That looks great”, I say, pointing at Claire’s salmon pasta.

”Do you want a bite?” She asks and lifts up her fork on which she balances a bite of her food. I nod and she reaches over the table to feed me the.

”Oh, that is really delicious. I am almost regretting my choice.”

Claire laughs and my heart beats higher. For a while, we just eat in silence.

”Claire?” I finally ask.

”Yes, Eve?”

”Would you be willing to try a relationship again? I mean really, officially try?”

”I thought you’d never ask.”


Picture taken from pixabay.com

Sort:  

Love it! I will miss Eve. Thank you, @suesa for sharing your talent here in Steemit.

Nice

Thanks for that @suesa, I have enjoyed it greatly, sorry my upvotes are not worth much but really appreciate you are willing to put the work out there. Really looking forward to the next series! There is a next.... isn't there?

The next series is already written, has 5 parts and starts tomorrow :)

Wait what. I just came across this! I'm gonna have to start from the beginning. It was seriously intriguing! Good job!

woww, This is very romantic, you are an extraordinary person @suesa

Thank you dear @suesa!

Its a good read. Feels good now. Upvoted and followed.

Tag fiction good!

Very romantic @suesa

That's so sweet.... everyone deserve a second chance.

Very nice post.
upped
resteem
followed

todo se ve muy romántico, buena idea gracias por tu post

The best fiction. Hopefully we become friends and follow each other

ackward choice of topics to discuss on a night out dinner. why was Claire initially trying to get rid of "him"?

  1. It's the last part of the series, the discussion seems bit more natural when you read the rest

  2. There is no "him". They're lesbians.

now I have to go all the way back to the beginning! Can't wait to read more, glad I followed

beautiful!!!!

Suesa, i just get to follow you just few days back, and i must confess, you are doing a great job here. I love particularly the synergy you bring in between sciencr and fiction.ride on

Nope. And looking at your reputation I think you should stop spamming people.