Please Come Now - A Screenplay: Part 3

in #fiction5 years ago (edited)

Please Come Now - Part 1
Please Come Now - Part 2

INT. REBECCA'S OFFICE - NOON (FLASHBACK)

Rebecca's phone rings and she quickly answers it.

REBECCA
Hey there sexy!

JACK
What are you doing for lunch today?

REBECCA
No plans. Did you have something in mind?

INT. JACK'S APARTMENT - NOON (FLASHBACK)

Rebecca and Jack blow through the door to Jack's apartment, lips locked and clawing at each others clothing.

They stumble down the hallway, bumping into walls, losing layers of clothing along the way.

INT. JACK'S BEDROOM - NOON (FLASHBACK)

Rebecca and Jack lay side by side on the bed, naked, breathing heavily.

JACK
I hate that we can only see each other like this.

REBECCA
When do you leave?

JACK
Two months. When does he get back?

REBECCA
Three months.

JACK
That works out.

She looks at him and grabs her face with his hand. She pulls him closer and kisses him, then climbs on top of him.

EXT. C-130 - NIGHT

TWO SOLDIERS push Jack's up the ramp of a waiting C-130.

Wheeling him into position, the soldiers lock the wheels of his stretcher, then transfer him into a recessed area on the side of the fuselage. Then they lock down the stretcher and test it to make sure it won't move.

Engines roaring, wind whipping, three other stretchers are loaded and locked down in a similar fashion.

A FEMALE DOCTOR hovers directly over Jack.

FEMALE DOCTOR
You're going to San Antonio. They have the best orthopedic doctors in the country. Your legs will be just fine. And try to remember that your neck is broken. It will heal as long as you keep your eyes forward.

She gently guides his head away from her and points it toward the ceiling.

FEMALE DOCTOR
Are you in pain?

JACK
I can't feel anything.

FEMALE DOCTOR
If you could feel you'd be screaming. The nurses will check in on you while you're in the air. I don't want to see you again. Understand?

EXT. REBECCA'S HOUSE - NIGHT (FLASHBACK)

Rebecca stands next to her front door, keys in hand.

REBECCA
Do you want to see me again?

They both smile nervously.

JACK
I would love to see you again.

Jack's phone is in his left hand and Rebecca grabs it.

She punches in a number and hands it back.

REBECCA
Call me.

She turns to put her keys in the front door.

JACK
Do you have to go?

REBECCA
The babysitter does. And if the boys saw you here this late they'd ask questions.

JACK
Ok. I'll talk to you later...call you later...I'll, uh...

Jack holds up the phone to cover his nervousness.

Rebecca pecks him on the cheek and smiles as she opens the front door.

INT. JACK'S LIVING ROOM - EVENING (FLASHBACK)

A guy's apartment. Sparse on decoration, heavy on relaxation. Big screen TV. PlayStation. Dead beer bottles and empty plates.

Jack's roommate TERRY, mid-twenties, long haired and scruffy, sits at the dining room table, eating cereal and playing with an iPad.

TERRY
What are you looking for?

JACK
My keys.

TERRY
You going out with Rebecca tonight?

JACK
Did you just get up?

TERRY
I had a late night.

JACK
Do I want to know about it?

TERRY
Yes, you do. I probably won't be back tonight if you want some privacy.

JACK
It's not like that.

TERRY
Ok.

Jack finds his keys beneath one of the couch cushions.

JACK
We're just friends, we enjoy hanging out with each other.

TERRY
I said ok.

JACK
She's married. Her husband is in Iraq. I wouldn't even if I wanted to.

TERRY
All I'm saying is I'll be gone later on if you two want to hang out here.

JACK
You don't believe me.

TERRY
Get out of your head, brother. You could be screwing her right in front of me on the couch and I wouldn't care.

Jack takes his jacket out of the closet and turns to leave.

TERRY
Hold on. You should screw her right here. I could direct. Shift a little here. Put your finger there. Go a little faster. You could pretend to be pissed when we leak it online.

JACK
Goodbye.

TERRY
Think about it! The Kardashians created an empire out of a sex tape.

Please Come Now - Part 4