Please Come Now - A Screenplay: Part 4

in #fiction5 years ago (edited)

Please Come Now - Part 1
Please Come Now - Part 2
Please Come Now - Part 3

EXT. MOVIE THEATER - NIGHT (FLASHBACK)

Jack holds the door open for Rebecca as the pair exit the movie theater. They pass in front of the promotional poster for "The Town".

The cold bites. They both zip up their coats and brace against it.

As they walk to the parking lot, Rebecca grabs his arm and shields herself from the wind.

EXT. MOVIE THEATER PARKING LOT - CONTINUOUS (FLASHBACK)

Jack walks Rebecca to her minivan. It blocks most of the wind and she turns around at the driver's door to face him.

REBECCA
So it's settled. You owe me dinner.

JACK
It is so not settled.

REBECCA
I said there would be a happy ending and I was right.

JACK
How was that happy? They steal a zillion dollars, almost everyone dies and the guy and girl don't end up together.

REBECCA
Yes they do.

JACK
She's gardening in Boston and he's on a beach somewhere.

REBECCA
And he says he will see her again. They're in love. It has to happen.

JACK
You have way more hope than I do. C'mon, you're shivering. You should get home.

He opens his arms to hug her. As they pull away after the hug she pecks him on the cheek.

Their eyes lock. They kiss frantically for a long moment.

Then Jack pulls back suddenly.

JACK
You're married. I can't.

REBECCA
I'm sorry.

JACK
Your husband...I mean, I want to, don't get me wrong...

REBECCA
I know. It's ok. I just wanted to feel something I guess.

JACK
He'll be back soon, won't he?

REBECCA
I don't feel anything when he's here.

Rebecca turns and opens the car door. Jack takes a step back but stays and watches her start up the car and drive out of the parking lot.

INT. C-130 CARGO BAY - NIGHT

Jack wakes up to see a NURSE putting a blood pressure cuff on his arm. The ride is bumpy, and she's having a little trouble maintaining her balance.

NURSE
I'm just taking your vitals. Here, open your mouth.

She inserts a thermometer under his tongue.

NURSE
You can go back to sleep in a minute. Sounded like you were dreaming. Flashback?

Jack tries to shake his head but the neck brace stops him.

She notes the blood pressure reading, takes off the cuff and plucks the thermometer from Jack's mouth.

NURSE
You're a little warm. Can you feel any pain?

JACK
No.

NURSE
Good. Close your eyes.

INT. SKATING RINK CHANGING AREA - AFTERNOON (FLASHBACK)

Not terribly busy, the rink has about two dozen SKATERS either on the ice or lacing up their skates.

Rebecca sits on a bench, one leg up with the skate wedged between Jack's legs. He is tying her laces.

JACK
My dad used to do this for me. He would pull so hard I'd lose feeling in my foot.

REBECCA
Six.

JACK
Six what?

REBECCA
You're wondering how many times I'm going to fall on my ass out there. The answer is six.

JACK
I guarantee I will fall more than you.

REBECCA
What? You played hockey growing up.

JACK
That was 10 years ago and I haven't skated since. Count on me doing some really stupid shit because I think I can still skate and I want to impress you.

Finished with her skates, Jack helps her stand and they both walk stiltedly toward the rink.

INT. SKATING RINK - CONTINUOUS (FLASHBACK)

Jack glides out unto the ice and holds his hand out for Rebecca to follow. Her first few strides are tentative, but soon it becomes apparent she's not a novice. She lets go of his hand and speeds out ahead of him.

JACK
Liar. You know how to skate.

She turns around, skates backwards and sticks out her tongue.

JACK
Yeah, so I'm definitely falling more than you today.

Jack heads toward the end of the rink, flying past her. He tries to stop but his feet come out from under him and he slides into the boards.

The crash looks violent, but Jack pops up laughing.

JACK
That's one.

REBECCA
You're an idiot.

JACK
You have no idea.

REBECCA
I'd like to.

INT. SKATING RINK SNACK BAR - AFTERNOON (FLASHBACK)

Jack and Rebecca sit across a picnic table sipping hot chocolate. Once playful faces are now somber.

REBECCA
Do you know, he's been gone for eight months, and I haven't missed him. Not for a single day. When he's home I feel like I don't exist.

JACK
Why are you still with him?

REBECCA
Because I'm a coward.

JACK
No, you're not.

REBECCA
Yes, I am. I have the kids, a house, a car. It's safe. And all I have to do is -

JACK
Take care of the kids and make his dinner and rub his feet.

REBECCA
It's not that, I'm not a servant. It's just...ok, how long have we been talking.

JACK
(Looking at his watch)
Probably two hours.

REBECCA
Right. You know the last time I talked to Chad for two hours about anything?

JACK
No.

REBECCA
Never. How many tangents have we been on? How many stupid stories did you tell me?

JACK
Stupid?

REBECCA
He and I never do this. And when we do talk he doesn't understand what I'm saying. I asked him to help me out and mow the lawn once.

JACK
He doesn't mow the lawn?

REBECCA
He told me he'd hire someone to do it. Missing the entire point. We're supposed to be partners. In love with each other. Do things for each other. Share things. We share a house and a bank account, that's it. And don't get me started on sex.

JACK
Did I?

REBECCA
No, but I'm rolling. You want to know how many times we had sex before he deployed last year?

JACK
If you're asking it can't be a big number.

REBECCA
I can count on one hand. And I don't think I've ever had an orgasm.

JACK
Should we be talking…wait, seriously never?

REBECCA
He thinks I'm frigid but when he's around I just feel numb. I need that connection. I need it.

Please Come Now - Part 5