Please Come Now - A Screenplay: Part 7

in #fiction5 years ago (edited)

Please Come Now - Part 1
Please Come Now - Part 2
Please Come Now - Part 3
Please Come Now - Part 4
Please Come Now - Part 5
Please Come Now - Part 6

INT. CENTER FOR THE INTREPID - CONTINUOUS

On crutches, Rachel enters a recessed room next to the main therapy area with Jack in tow. A row of computers line one wall, each with a mechanical bed in front of it.

TOM PARKER, mid-40s, fit, dark hair, sits on a chair typing an email.

RACHEL
Tom, I have a new patient for you. This is Jack.

Tom turns away from the computer and shakes Jack's hand.

TOM
Welcome to CFI, Jack. Don't believe anything she has told you about me.

JACK
She said you were great, actually.

TOM
Off your meds, Rachel?

RACHEL
I'll leave you two alone. See you around the house later Jack?

JACK
Definitely.

TOM
Hop up on this table Jack and we'll get started.

INT. FISHER HOUSE KITCHEN - NIGHT

Rachel sits at the kitchen counter eating a bowl of ice cream. Her crutches lean on the counter next to her.

Jack wheels himself into the kitchen, taking care to avoid bumping his outstretched right leg on the doorjamb.

RACHEL
Need some help?

JACK
Hi. No, I need to learn how to do this on my own.

RACHEL
How was your first day?

JACK
Painful.

RACHEL
It gets better, trust me.

Jack pours himself a cup of coffee and wheels himself, one handed, toward the counter near Rachel.

JACK
Can I ask you a question?

RACHEL
Sure.

JACK
I heard more one-legged jokes today than I have in my entire life, is this normal?

RACHEL
For people with one leg, it is.

JACK
What happened to yours?

RACHEL
It's, ahh…I’d rather not talk about it. I hope you don't...

JACK
I'm sorry...

RACHEL
You are so easy! This isn't even fun anymore.

JACK
I don't understand what's going on.

RACHEL
Look, you know the people who whine about their bad luck and wonder how they're ever going to be normal again after they lose a leg?

JACK
I guess.

RACHEL
I used to be one of those people. I walked around hanging my head and feeling sorry for myself wondering what I was going to do. The people here snapped me out of it.

JACK
That's very cool.

RACHEL
Besides, you get so much sympathy from people with two legs. And a one legged woman turns guys on for some reason.

JACK
Guys hit on you here?

RACHEL
All the time.

JACK
What do you say?

RACHEL
Ick. You think I'm going to go out with a guy with one leg? Gross.

Jack laughs nervously.

JACK
That was a joke right.

RACHEL
You're getting better.

INT. FISHER HOUSE LIVING ROOM - NIGHT

Rachel is sprawled out on the couch next to her crutches and Jack faces her in his wheelchair.

JACK
Who is staying here with you?

RACHEL
My mom.

JACK
Maybe she can hang out with my mom and she’ll leave me alone.

RACHEL
I haven't seen her in a couple weeks. She shacked up with some guy. She cheated on my dad when I was young and has been hopping from man to man ever since. We stay for a few months, then they get tired of her and kick both of us out.

JACK
That's rough.

RACHEL
I joined the Army to get away from her. Out of that situation. When she found out I lost my leg she wasn't going to come, but then she heard she could get paid for taking care of me. She showed up the next day.

JACK
What about your dad?

RACHEL
Died in a car accident. Drunk.

Linda, dressed in pajamas, walks down the hallway and peeks into the living room.

RACHEL
What's your story? Are you seeing anyone?

JACK
I was before I deployed, but it didn't work out.

RACHEL
Uh uh. Nope. I just told you my whole life story. You don't get to weasel out like that.

Jack laughs, Linda strains to hear better.

JACK
We dated for a few months but it was never going to work. I was deploying and her husband was coming back a month later.

RACHEL
You were the other guy. Bad boy.

JACK
It wasn't like that, it was more like her husband was the other guy. She couldn't stand him.

RACHEL
Then why were they still together?

JACK
I asked her that once and she said 'because I'm a coward.' They had two kids together, a house, it was safe, I guess.

RACHEL
She probably needed to get laid.

JACK
She did say she'd never had an orgasm with him.

RACHEL
See? I know women. Nothing but drama. You're better off.

JACK
You're probably right.

Linda knocks on the wall.

LINDA
Jack, it's 1AM. You ok?

JACK
Hey, mom. I didn't realize it was so late.

RACHEL
It's my fault Linda, he tried to shut me up, but I kept talking.

LINDA
I hate to interrupt but he has an early appointment tomorrow.

JACK
I forgot Mom, I'll be there in a sec.

LINDA
Ok sweetheart.

Linda retreats back to their room.

JACK
Sorry, she'll never stop being a mom.

RACHEL
It's ok. I'm jealous actually.

JACK
Talk to you tomorrow?

RACHEL
Definitely.

INT. LINDA AND JACK'S BEDROOM - NIGHT

Jack lies in bed, the covers bulging over the external fixator on his right leg.

Linda slides into her bed and reaches over to turn out the light.

JACK
How long were you standing there listening?

LINDA
Not long.

A beat.

LINDA
I'll never ask about Rachel again.

JACK
Thanks mom.

LINDA
Goodnight darling.

JACK
Goodnight.

EXT. REBECCA'S HOUSE - NIGHT (FLASHBACK)

Jack knocks softly on the door and after a moment, Rebecca opens it.

REBECCA
Hey, come on in.

JACK
I can't.

REBECCA
It's ok, the boys have been asleep for a while.

JACK
No, you don't understand. I can't.

Rebecca steps outside and closes the door, bracing against the chilly night.

REBECCA
What are you saying?

JACK
My First Sergeant found out about us. He told me to break it off.

REBECCA
When was this?

JACK
Yesterday.

REBECCA
So last night this was ok. When I left your apartment this morning we were fine. But at some point during the day today you decide you don't want to be with me anymore.

JACK
It's not that I don't want to. It's just...

REBECCA
What? What is it?

JACK
You're married. He's coming back in two months. How does this work?

REBECCA
Do you love me?

JACK
What we have means so much...

REBECCA
So it was just sex then? I was just an easy lay?

JACK
No. It's just..the situation, how do we deal with...

REBECCA
Here's how we deal with it. Fuck off.

JACK
Hold on, I want to talk about this.

REBECCA
We've been talking about it. I've talked for hours about my husband and what an asshole he is and how you're the best thing to ever happen to me. And now you've told me what I needed to know.

She storms back inside and slams the door.

Please Come Now - Part 8