SPOOKY: WHAT IT FEELS LIKE TO BE BURIED ALIVE

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

You have heard stories of people being buried alive or watched movies where this has been acted out. But have you ever put yourself in the shoes of someone being drowned by sand?

Have you ever tried to imagine what it feels like to lie helplessly in a pit while you are being covered by the earth? Here's a short story recounting how it feels. Try to feel it happen to you and leave your comments.


Source

Imagine this

Sand is being thrown on your body. Dust gets into your eyes. You're tied down with a thick rope. You can't get up.

You start coughing as the dust gets thicker on your face. You want to rub your nose but you can't. You throw your head left and right in an effort to get dust off your face. Reality begins to hit you that you're going to die, you start crying.

Your life begins to flash back at you. The time from when you were born, your family, beautiful moments you had, the love, the hate... The story of your life till this moment. This cursed moment.

But the weight of earth shovelled on you get heavier as you begin to question why you're really there in that hole. The wicked people burying you alive get to continue their lives while you rot down here. You ask yourself if you will go to heaven or hell. Is there a heaven or hell?

Will somebody save me? Will they just have a change of heart and stop and pull me out? Will I die fast? Will it feel like sleeping? Will it feel like drowning? The sand begins to fall on your face. You spit and spit but its useless.

Your entire torso all the way down to your legs is covered in sand. You can't see the rest of your body. A huge heap of dust is thrown at your face. You shake your head ferociously and begin to scream and beg. Crying loudly.

The sand is in your eyes, you shout and spit and cry. Another heap shuts you up. And another. And another. In a moment of sheer disbelief, your face is lost to the world.


Source

You are under there. Eyes closed. Holding your breath and pressing your lips together. You don't know how long you can hold it. You still feel the sand hitting you from the top, more shovelling.

You begin to lose consciousness. And since you can't really hold your breath that long naturally, you begin to inhale. No air, just dust and sand. Your lungs are aching. You mouth opens unconsciously to take a deep breath in. And you suck in sand. You want to spit it out, but when you try more dust is sucked in. You vibrate as your body longs for oxygen. Your body spasms in it's last desperation to snatch life back as it slips away.

You begin to fade, to drop and lose consciousness. You're still vibrating, searching for relief.

You go into a deep sleep and your body loses energy. And ultimately, you stop vibrating. Meanwhile, the sand above you keeps growing and the weight begins to crush you.

Above you are human beings like you who believe what they're doing to you is right. They get to live while you die. Why?

The light at the end of the tunnel then flashes before you.

Sort:  

Really interesting piece @uwemedimo

Thank you @donaldpete. I am going to write more interesting pieces like this.

Wow, @uwemedimo, I never really considered this, and now that I have I can say for certain that it is not something I want to have happen to me! How about you? What made you think about writing this? I am curious because it isn't a typical topic one comes across every day.
Cheers!

@mitneb People tell me I have a wild imagination. Lucky for me I also like to write. It was just a regular evening when I was chatting with a friend on WhatsApp that this idea came into the conversation. Immediately, I went offline and started typing what my mind was creating. It was very discomforting, I felt it in the way I was breathing while typing. But I was hooked and just wanted to keep writing it.

This was so intense, scary but really intriguing. Good stuff!

Thank you @sharoonyasir I really appreciate you commenting. It goes a long way in encouraging me to write more.

Bro... This is some scary stuff but nice though
Lovely

Thanks a lot bro. Keep watching my space, I write more stuff like this

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @uwemedimo to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

This is very scary, i can't imagine that. Nice write-up