Donnie, Chloe and the Nightprowlers, Chapter 7 -- Donnie: Crystal

in #fiction6 years ago

Chapter 7 -- Donnie: Crystal

Donnie Chloe Cover.jpg

Chapter 1 - Donnie -- Full Moon
Chapter 5 - Donnie -- Awake
Chapter 6 - Chloe -- Stranger

"What's up, Don?"

"Hey, man! You win the lottery or something?"

"Dude... you've been radiant all morning! What's going on?"

"Nothing," I reply each time with a wide smile. "I'm just feeling good, that's all."

I am feeling good. More than good – I’m ecstatic, I feel fantastic! Everything has changed. Colors look brighter, birdsong louder. The usually harsh December weather seems as cool as Spring. Even the very air tastes sweeter.

I can fly! Me! Donnie! I can fly, and heavens knows what else. I have powers! Hah!

Since I had accessed the supernatural energy in my room that morning, it has not gone away. It’s all around me, an overwhelming presence. I could feel it from the tips of my fingers down to my toes, making me feel like anything is possible, like I can do anything. I am super-elated. I couldn't help grinning all through the morning at work. Things are so about to change.

By 1pm, I turn off my console and stand. "Alright, guys, I'm taking a break. Back in half an hour."

The other programmers barely look up. "Sure, Don. Get us a burger or something."

I leave the Code Pen and take the elevator downstairs, not really sure of where I want to go. The truth is, the break was actually for all of us at the pen, but no one, including me, took it often — once a programmer is plugged into his system, he doesn't get off lightly. Today however, I don’t feel much like writing code. I can't wait to get away from the pen and have some time to myself to just sit and think about what has happened to me. Or rather, sit and think about what I am. Hadn't the other nightprowlers made it seem like I've always been this way? But then, if I had been born with it, did that mean my brother was a nightprowler too? That the rest of my family at least knew about it? I wish I could remember what had happened between midnight and morning, but what comes back to me is always the same — a swirling of colors, a dazzling smile. Only what I had felt has come back fully, and the power. I can't wait to find out what else I can do. And I am quite hungry. I'm just wondering if I can magically summon food when suddenly, I run headlong into someone.
I’m mortified — I had been so engrossed in my thoughts I hadn't been paying attention to where I was going.

"Oh! I'm so sorry!" I exclaim, bending immediately to pick up the purse I had knocked out of her hands. "Forgive me, I was deep in thought and... and..."

I stutter into silence as I stand. The girl in front of me is without doubt the most beautiful person I have ever seen. She looks at me with innocent, wide, dark eyes set in a perfect pear-shaped face, with shoulder-length hair of mixed vivid blue and red locks. When she smiles at me, my heart skips a beat.

Then she calls my name. "Donnie."

And suddenly, I know. I just know.

My breath catches in my throat. It’s her, the thrilling soprano and dazzling beauty from last night whose face I couldn't remember seeing. It’s her!

"You're here," I breathe.

She nods, looking just out of breath as I felt. I hand the purse over slowly, not taking my eyes off her face. It's stupid, but I'm afraid that if I do, she would vanish. And she’s beautiful. So beautiful. We stand like this for a few seconds, just staring at each other.

Finally, she speaks. "We should probably get out of here." She says.

I nod, "Yeah." I'm, once again, slightly dazed. I shake my head to clear it. Then I smile myself. "Yeah, you're right."

She smiles again, blushing slightly. "I'm Crystal," she says. "My friends call me Cris."

"Cris," I repeat, testing the name on my lips. I suddenly remember – one of the nightprowlers that had 'met' me had been called Cris, another Pam.

"I know initiation can be very disorienting," she continues. "You must have so much questions."

"Tons," I reply.

Her smile grows wider. "Fancy a bite?"

I let out a small breath of laughter. "Actually, I'm kind of famished."

She joins her laughter with mine — it sounds so sweet to my ears — and takes my hand. I follow her willingly.

"Donnie?" A voice calls from behind us.
We both turn. Chloe is standing a few feet away, a look of mingled shock and confusion on her face, apparently heading to the office to see me. As I see her, the strangest thing happens — my heart gives an extremely hard beat and for a split second, it seems like there is something struggling inside me... something malignant. But then, it's gone and everything is back to normal.

"Donnie, what's going on?" She asks.

I can only think of Crystal and all the answers I'm about to get. "We'll talk later, alright?" I say. "I have a very important appointment."

And, with Crystal's hand still in mine, I turn and walk away, leaving Chloe on the sidewalk, looking extremely hurt and confused


Watch Here for Chapter 8 --Chloe: Questions


Upvote, Comment, Resteem

Follow me @whitewizard

Sort:  

This is a great story sir thanku for sharing this story please support me sir i am new on steemit and i also follow and upvoting @whitewizard

Congratulations @whitewizard! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @whitewizard! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 500 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 600 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Christmas Challenge - Send a gift to to your friends

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!