Book Review. The Dark Tower # 2, 3, 4

in #fiction7 years ago

Hello!
I was going to spend about 16 days to read the whole series of eight books but sometimes I have no desire to read and write posts, so it'll be a long process.
My previous review was The Dark Tower: The Gunslinger.


The Dark Tower II: The Drawing of the Three


Plot: The story begins at the same place where the first part The Dark Tower: The Gunslinger ended. Roland will have to draw his new companions from other worlds. They will help him get to the Tower.

My opinion: The novel is divided into three parts, respectively, in each of them The Gunslinger gets acquainted with a new person. I'll tell only about the first two characters in order not to spoil an interesting twist.

The second book surpassed all my expectations. Roland goes to New York in different years and the western part is behind. King was able to convey the emotions of The Gunslinger from a collision with a new world. In New York, he is waiting for interesting adventures.

First he meets Eddie, a young drug addict. This part about Eddie is one of the most interesting, especially I liked their interaction. Eddie is completely different. He, of course, is madly furious with the fact that The Gunslinger drew him out of the familiar world. Firstly, he wants to shoot up, and secondly, eat something tastier than lobsters. Plus he needs to take care of Roland, who is really unwell. But when Eddie's withdrawal ends, we have a man with a great sense of humor and, above all, he is a reliable friend. But Roland isn't going to be his best friend - he betrays and kills any who will stand on his way to the Dark Tower.

Next, we meet the next character whom I will call Miss Walker.

She is devoted to the part of the book entitled "The Lady of Shadows". I will say at once, this is my unloved character, I hate her. It turns my stomach when I read her phrases ending 'sugar'. I will say the following about her chapter - I was completely uninteresting to read about her former life before she meets Roland, but it was exciting to observe her behavior. I laughed at her monologues and the poor Eddie and Roland, who had to endure all this.
To me, Miss Walker is the most boring character in the universe of the Dark Tower. Although King is trying to make a strong woman, telling that she shoots better than Eddie and behaves herself, she is too soft, supple and trying to please everyone. As a mummy.

The next chapter or part of the book is my favorite because it is the funniest. I laughed over the unlucky Roland, but he coped well with all the troubles that fell on his head. Well, King struck with an unusual move so much that I did not expect such a turn. I like to be surprised.


The Dark Tower III: The Waste Lands


Plot: Our heroes are joined by another ally, who will make a tangible contribution to the search for a path to the Dark Tower. The travelers leave the desert behind and approach one of the major cities - Lud, which in many ways resembles our New York.

My opinion: While this is my favorite book of the whole series. There are a lot of locations, many new characters, the plot is very dynamic. We reflect on technological progress, how quickly people degrade, forget the past and return to the cave state. King raises the question of an artificial intelligence and its influence on humanity. So many interesting themes will be described, the reading will not be boring for sure).

I wish to exclude Miss Walker from this book and then it would be perfect). Ah, dreams.

The Roland team finally rallied. Earlier I perceived them as the separate characters, but now I began to see in them a unity, or ka-tet - the word Roland called their team. Eddie and Miss Walker no longer want to return to their world (I do not understand why, because the comfort is above all for me). So, King unites characters not only with a common goal but also connects them with common thoughts and dreams. Every little thing matters although the characters themselves do not suspect how much they affected the events. The book is so amazing that I had to reread some scenes again in order to enjoy the moment of understanding the genius of King in the thoughtfulness of the plot description.


The Dark Tower IV: Wizard and Glass


Plot: The heroes meet The Man In Black. Roland begins telling a long story of his youth.

My opinion: I went crazy after reading the beginning of the book. The heroes fall into Kansas, to the place where the actions of the novel "The Stand" took place! Can you imagine that? That is my favorite novel by King and I re-read it 10 times. God, from such a reference, I almost burst into tears. But then the tears of happiness were replaced by bewilderment. Most of the book is the story of Roland's youth and acquaintance with Susan Delgado - his love.

Firstly, it's very difficult for me to switch from habitual characters to new ones. Secondly, I did not understand why it was necessary to devote so much time to her. I forgave King that he copied part of the previous book and put it in ... for some reason I don't understand. And then this Susan happened. I admit that I could not read this story, I was not interested.So I was leafing through it but this story never ended. Sometimes I do not like when King begins to tell the story of a secondary character, starting almost from his infancy. I understand the importance of revealing the character of Roland. I understand that King wanted to show the beginning of the fall of the world, but everything was described so boringly that after a fantastic third book, it was physically painful from such disappointment. So my reading was stalled, but I have already started to read the fifth book.

Image source 1 2 3 4 5