Lost (a fifty-word story)

in #fiftywords6 years ago

forest.jpeg

Where am I? How did I get this deep into the forest? Did I black out? It’s getting cold and dark now. It must be just after sunset. I should probably find a good place to… Wait, what was that? It sounded like it came from over th… Oh no.


This is a fifty-word fictional story. It was written as part of this fifty-word short story challenge currently organized by @jayna. The prompt word this time is "forest". Please feel free to check out the other #fiftywords stories and join the challenge.

The photo above is just some random photo I took at the Erawan National Park in #Thailand.

Sort:  

Very nice, @adigitalife! I'm sorry I nearly forgot to comment on this one. I was traveling, and am still catching up. I like what you did with the protagonist's fear and confusion.

No problem at all. Thanks!

Nice suspense! The photo adds more mystery in it. It leaves a lot of possibilities.

Ah, the suspense is killing me! The unresolved conflict. Always a favourite for me. Great little story.

Thanks! I'm enjoying this format. Hopefully it will also lead to me writing longer fictional pieces.

Cliffhanger... (maybe literally?) Now we must fill in with our imagination, while waiting for more (perhaps?) on this! Like the fairy tale says, "Be Afraid..." Good piece, @adigitalife

Thanks! I've taken a cue from some of the other stories I've read previously. Leave it up to the reader to imagine what happens next. :)

I think you've nailed the secret , @adigitalife - in showbiz, the mantra is "leave 'em wanting more." Goes for storytelling too!

This is amazing, thanks for sharing

Amazing narration style, i believe it is not necessary to stop yourself after 50 words, the way you were explaining you can write more and more. Hope to read some later ;)

Thanks! The objective of this particular challenge is to write a story using only 50 words so in this case I had to stop at 50 words. But perhaps I will try to write longer stories later on. :)

Oh,, now i understand :) looking forward to read some later :)

Nature can be so beautiful

This happens to me and I wake-up from the dream. I hope its just a dream.

Sometimes it's difficult to distinguish the dream world from the real world.

I lack words but I think its amazing, good job