The race (a fifty-word story)

in #fiftywords6 years ago

_MG_6918 (2).jpg

I spring to my feet and start rushing towards her. Jack is first to notice and chases after me. Chris follows immediately next. The others now see what's going on and run towards her too. I reach her first. God bless her but Mary from accounting never brings enough doughnuts!


This is a fifty-word fictional story. It was written as part of this Fifty-word short story challenge. Please feel free to check out the other #fiftywords stories and join the challenge.

The photo above was taken in Suzuka, Japan on the 10th of October 2004. I chose it because it's deliberately misleading. Or, I'm lazy and just took it from this post.

Sort:  

Hilarious. 🤣 Accountant-jokes always reach me!😃👏🏽

Oh for goodness sakes! You totally had me going. I'm laughing out loud. Well done!

Thanks! I thought I'd go in a different direction this time. :)

This made me smile :) Great job building the tension -- mmm, now I want donuts.

Thanks! I always want donuts. :)

Damn you Mary, bring more bloody doughnuts! :)

Ps. Yesterday I had a hot cross bun, deep fried and injected with smooth vanilla custard inside...I'd give up a doughnut for that...Just saying.

what kind of an accountant cant keep track of totals , pink slip for her

I find it race cars are just beautiful :D x

You are just lazy 😂. Lovely story though. I hope you got thos e doughnuts. All that running and then nothing... Mary better be strong.

Thanks! I'm always lazy except when I can get a free doughnut. 😆

If I had to run for a doughnut only to be told there were none left...Might be a crisis situation for the person who made me run...

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by adigitalife from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.