A Toy For Heaven [A 50 Word Short]

in #fiftywords6 years ago


“Not enough, kid.” The clerk pushed the money to the edge of the counter.

Bobby clutched the stuffed rabbit. His baby sister was born too small. She needed a toy to play with in Heaven.

He dropped the rabbit and left. He would give her one of his soldiers instead.


This is for @jayna's Fifty Word challenge. I've missed the last few weeks of #fiftywords stories, but I got one in for this week. The prompt was "money".





Posted from my blog with
SteemPress : http://therosepatch.com/a-toy-for-heaven-a-50-word-short/

Sort:  

This is so heart breaking that I wish I hadn't read this. For people who say short format doesn't work in story telling, I'd like to point them to this post.

Oh my, @therosepatch! That is the saddest 50-word short story I've ever read. And there are multiple heartbreaking aspects -- that he lost his baby sister, that he wants to buy her a toy, and that he is rejected for not having enough to buy it. Really well done.

And then, he decides to give her one of his own toys. I just want to hug this kid.

Great Post 😆

Congratulations @therosepatch! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!