Perfection

in #fiftywords6 years ago (edited)

Hi everyone,

This is a submission to @jayna's 50-word challenge. The story prompt of this week was the word "lens".


bl.jpg

The marathon runner in front suddenly collapses meters from the finish line. His body starts shaking fiercely, while his mind attempts to overcome this frightful moment of weakness.
No hesitation.
I take my camera, adjust my focus and search for the right angle.
Click.
The perfect photo.


That's it. This micro is inspired by an event that happened last week where a marahton runner collapsed and the spectators shockingly just stood at the sidelines. Noone even attempted to check on the man who was clearly in need of help. One spectator even rushed in with her phone to get a nice angle to take a photograph. The prompt reminded me of that image, and I tried to write in the POV of someone I can't relate to whatsoever. I hope it's this little micro that leaves some food for thought.

I hope you enjoyed.

See you next time.

Image source

Sort:  

That is crazy. What is with people? If it was that person's child or other relative, she would be completely freaking out. Thanks for capturing this and sharing the backstory!

Great job on highlighting this modern day ill in so few words... Scenes like this are becoming all to common in our modern world..

This post has received a 27.78% upvote from @msp-bidbot thanks to: @tuwore. Delegate SP to this public bot and get paid daily: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP Don't delegate so much that you have less than 50SP left on your account.

I also hope it will make people think... (although I know better)

Oh my word! I simply can not imagine seeing something like this and thinking to take a photo instead. I might not know what to do to help, but I can't imagine just trying to get a photo.