UFO (2018): Viewer Timestamp Commentary (DVD)

in #film4 years ago

A possible companion to 2016's Arrival?

-

-

Before you scroll down and read this post. Know that the information below would likely contain spoilers from 'UFO'.

-

-

-

-

-
 

My history on doing Timestamp Commentary dates back to Season 5 of Homeland. The reception to the idea had positives and negatives. I stuck with it for a couple of episodes, then moved to Tumblr (the home of 'the fan'). While on Tumblr I held off sharing my whole commentary, and just left it for readers who initially enjoyed reading my posts and requested it directly.   


-


-


-


-


-


-


-


-


-


-


(Just making sure the content is adequately hidden to give you  time
  to  close this window --- hold off before returning to view the  rest
of the post!)   


-


-


-


-


-


-


-


-


-




------------   

36:58 - Derek arrives at his apartment – This could be one of the rare films that is not really apologetic about the mass of information it presents. Maybe it is intentionally wanting to weed out those who get annoyed by complications? I mean...I almost wanted to walk away because the story is clearly for viewers who love details.

As for me? I'd be more concerned about the story, pacing and arc itself. That's probably I don't get into too much of the detail....and as a result...get annoyed when the detail falls through the wayside (as with episodes of Homeland in Season 5 that have to do with hacking).

I mean...even the brand appearances are structured for those who appreciate detail. Instead of flashing a T-Mobile logo, the mention of the brand is buried deep in dialogue.

1:18:34Epilogue – I'm not sure whether to get upset, annoyed or curious. If I was upset...maybe I would be annoyed that I let a film lead me along for more than an hour and get to this point. At which I'm wondering: Is that it!? Shouldn't there be more to the story?

Part of me couldn't believe that it was the end. When it just felt like that whole thing (Which interestingly didn't feel like an hour) was really a prologue. Yeah...it dragged along and got melodramatic at times...but somehow I'm thinking that it has something different to offer. There are no action sequences at all (despite the score making it feel like one is coming up).

I'd say it's a film with more information than emotion. While 'Arrival' shows us the emotional core (a mother going through a journey) then supports the story well with the right setting, 'UFO' seems to just want us to look at those notes that we left ourselves not exactly sure what they are for or the memories we have that we keep clinging to.


 ---------------  


I recently found out that Gillian Anderson is quite into Science Fiction (that she already is at her third novel with it as the core) and not just because she was typcast in roles within that genre (or because of playing Dana Scully). How did that happen even if I wasn't really a regular viewer of The X Files? Well, it was because I read though the information in the WBUR page about her reading Hope Edelman's Moderm Love essay titled 'Maternal Wisdom (5 Pounds Worth)'

Note: As a parent, you might agree that you might be able to let your 8 year old fraternal twins (who absolutely relish this kind of stuff). A bit like 'Arrival' right? It's more characterisation than explosions (there is not a one here right?).

Photo by Hans Splinter

(I picked this photo to represent Derek's personality. This is the kind of photo I could see himself taking if he were left to his own devices. I was going to initially for an picture of an Airport, Pen/Paper, Diner or even a Black SUV to reflect a moment of the film...then saw this.)


I look forward to reading your own commentary as a reply below or link to your post (whether or not it is on Steemit)! If you think  you have the name of the next film or TV show I should watch...go for it.  Feedback is welcome here.     




For upvoting, I had heard from Steve Clark, that it is better to upvote posts that are less than 7 days old. So if you would like to be sure I get rewarded, head here to see newer posts.       

 




After reading this post (specifically item one), I've decided to include links for verification so any of the witnesses can confirm that I am me! :)  #1 - Here's a tweet linking to one of my Steemit posts#2 - Here's a page on my site with a Tweet from my handle embeded #3 - Here's my Thrive Feed (that links to my site, which links to my Twitter feed...which links to my Steemit feed...)   






Previous Commentary posts:    

(Film)          



(TV)          





Search Terms: Viewer Timestamp Commentary / college student / Cincinnati / UAP /  2018 Films / Alex Sharp / Ella Purnell / Benjamin Beatty / Survaillance / Cece Abbey / David Strathairn / Ken Early / Brian Bowman / Rick Chambers / Lu Parker / Ryan Eslinger / Daniel and Abraham / When a Man Falls