Photographs I Took in Switzerland When I Was 13 Years Old on 35mm Film

in #film4 years ago (edited)

When I was 13, I went to Switzerland on a ski trip with my school. I was terrified of social interaction back then and was placed around numerous classmates that I had never really interacted with before, but the trip itself resulted in new friendships and an unforgettable experience within the mountains.

Photo11_7A.jpg

I only really got into photography at the age of 23, my experience prior was from simply using the odd disposable 35mm camera filled with any random film; I simply knew that you pressed a button and eventually, maybe weeks or months later, you'd see the final outcome.

Recently, I finally saw those images. Well over a decade later. Now with actual experience, I find it utterly fascinating to finally see these images and discover both old memories and an understanding of photography that seemingly was there all along.

Photo14_10A.jpg

I took the above image from the balcony of the hotel we stayed in -- I remember the halls being cold, filled with a flickering light that seemed hauntingly aware of your presence and would turn off as you're halfway down the thin halls.

I remember being quite scared of walking around this hotel that didn't really feel like a hotel, more like a prison that had been converted. The rooms were cold, relatively small and dirty, which resembled the rest of the building; void of soul, built commercially with the cheapest cost strictly approached.

Photo25_21.jpg

A distinct memory of the mountains I have is looking out from the glacier into the horizon, and seeing mountain after mountain fill the sky, looking like a painted backdrop and not at all these massive structures of rock created through millions of years, filled with sprinkled snow to amplify their beauty.

I'd ski down through the trees, travelling at ridiculous speeds in which would result in my bouncing across the snow for quite a few metres until I finally came to a halt. Stopping was eventually something I became quite good at, but I also enjoyed those moments of just bouncing across the snow, oddly. I'd lose my balance occasionally at such high speeds, hitting little bumps of snow that would give you a little air-time.

Photo17_13A.jpg

I hope that one day I can go skiing again, it's something I've always thought of doing again and absolutely loved. Though perhaps I'd enjoy it more under different circumstances. It's something I certainly wish I could do without having to travel many miles and oceans. While I'm not someone that's particularly into sports, I'd ski as often as I could if possible.

It's quite therapeutic, travelling at high speeds, or just casually sliding along, there's so much to see throughout the different slopes, so many views of mountains and beautiful trees spread out around you. There's not much else to think about in such moments.

Sort:  

Very cool place! It must be wonderful and really peaceful up there! 😎

Oh, your photos and your story are really lovely.

I hope that you can go to travel at high speed in the snow again! Maybe the traveling through miles and oceans will be a worthy adventure ♥️