My favorite five movies of all time... and that you need to see them!

in #film6 years ago

Cinema

In this dark period of cinema, where everything is a remake or a super hero movie, to be able to create a list of movies to watch or re watch can be truly a breath of fresh air. I will try to do it without spoilers, cause I did found out, that millennials haven't seen most of these movies.

  1. Fight Club

Fight Club is a 1999 film, directed by David Fincher, and stars Brad Pitt, Edward NORTON, and Helena Bonham Carter. The first time I watch it, after two minutes in, I ejected the VHS to make sure that I was watching the right movie. At 19 years old, this movie had a huge influence on me, mostly due too is anarchist view of society. Recently I re watched it, and it seems that is message is even more accurate now than almost twenty years ago!

download.jpg

  1. The Matrix

The Matrix is a 1999 ('99 was an extremely good year for movies!) science fiction action film directed by The Wachowskis sisters (yes! Both of them changed sex!) And stars Keanu Reeves, Laurence Fishburne, Carrie-Anne Moss, Hugo Weaving, and Joe Pantoliano. The first time I saw it, my mind got blowned away with is amazing new ground breaking effects and its original story. You can also start to figure it out a pattern that I have with movies that make us question our reality/society! On a really bad note, there's rumors that they go reboot the franchise! No good...

matrix-30-1200-1200-675-675-crop-000000.jpg

  1. Reservoir Dogs

Reservoir Dogs is a 1992 American heist thriller directed by Quentin Tarantino. It stars Harvey Keitel, Tim Roth, Chris Penn, Steve Buscemi, Lawrence Tierney, Michael Madsen, Tarantino. This is Quentin Tarantino first movie, and it got me addicted to his work, mostly because of the unbelievable rawness of it. It's brutal visual violence, the crazy mixed dialogues, all is perfect on it. Don't get me wrong, with the exception of Django Unchained, I love every single movie of Quentin, and it's extremely hard to choose this has my favorite!

download (1).jpg

  1. The Dark Knight.

The Dark Knight is a 2008 superhero film directed by Christopher Nolan. Stars Christian Bale, Michael Caine, Heath Ledger, Gary Oldman, Aaron Eckhart, Maggie Gyllenhaal and Morgan Freeman. The only movie that I saw back-to-back on movie theater! My favorite super hero is Batman, for 100 miles of distance to any other one, but in this movie is all about Heath Ledger. The most perfect acting of a villain in a film, so raw, so real, so surreal... as a spectator we fall in love with his madness. Christopher Nolan is by far my favorite movie director, I love his photography and the way He makes the story so intimate to the viewer, to choose the Dark Knight instead of Inception or Dunkirk is hard for me.

images.jpg

  1. Predator.

Predator is a 1987 film directed by John McTiernan. It stars Arnold Schwarzenegger, and by now you must think that I'm absolutely insane, to put an Arnold movie on the top 5! The truth is, everything is perfect on Predator, the rough muscled man team, where everyone has its different personality. The easy cheesy dialogues, the simpleness of the story. It's the perfect example of 80s action movie, where the hero was tough has nails, but resourceful to ultimately came on top. Apparently is on of those gems that is also gonna suffer a remake.

aHR0cDovL3d3dy5uZXdzYXJhbWEuY29tL2ltYWdlcy9pLzAwMC8xNjUvOTI3L2kwMi9QcmVkYXRvci0xOTg3LUNhc3QuanBn.jpg

So what's your top five? Comment down below. Eventually I will do a top five, by movie categories, so pay attention.

Vegan tales

Sort:  

A solid top 5, I would have to add Interstellar for my top 5

Also you broke the first rule of fight club lol :)

Hi VeganTales! I've watched 3 out of these 5 - Matrix, Fight Club and The Dark Knight.

I liked all three myself, especially Matrix and Fight Club although the Dark Knight was a a bit too dark for me.

Fight Club was such a powerful questioning of how messed up our society is!

Matrix was a good metaphor and posed a great "What if?"

Indeed, there are several physicists who have said that the Universe may be a simulation!

Indeed, they have found actual computer code in the equations of the fundamental building blocks recently!