Post Crowdfunding Updates - My Journey as a Filmmaker with Indiegogo

hi there , I wanted to create my 1st ever blog on this platform inspired by @Shortcut - Shortcut / https://steemit.com/@shortcut.

Shortcut kindly introduced me to Steemit! We connected as he found my crowdfunding campaign online!
WIRE MAGAZINE .jpg

I am still figuring Steemit out. However I know I have a lot of lovely contributors on here that selected perks on the campaign this year! So it just seems right to begin to blog here too!

me and damo suzuki and elke morsbach .jpg

INDIEGOGO SIZE.jpg
I have recently posted out complimentary signed (re prints to selected contributors that contributed during 'the poster give away week' to show my gratitude).

I would like to say thanks again and let you know what we completed Phase 1 of the edit and it is great to see the narrative come together.

For any one new to my work . Energy : A Documentary about Damo Suzuki is my 2nd Feature documentary.
LINK to campaign (now closed) https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/energy-a-documentary-about-damo-suzuki#/
SIGNITURE READY.jpg

tote bag indiegogo logo.jpg

We had some really awesome perks and it was a pleasure to send them all out !!!
DAMO SUZUKI AND DORCHA  LIVE AT LUNAR FESTIVAL 2018 3  (2).jpg

Also great fun to spend more time with Damo and Elke on tour !

damo suzuki signs photos.jpg

I thought it may also be nice to add some useful tips for other filmmakers thinking of crowdfunding via Indiegogo

https://entrepreneur.indiegogo.com/how-it-works/
Indiegogo is a launchpad for entrepreneurial ideas. Not sure how to begin? This handy guide walks you through every step of a successful project.

I firstly found out about Indiegogo from attending The Sheffield Documentary Festival in 2011.

The event inspired me to do my 1st blog also. See here! (via www.mrsomebody.co.uk) My 1st feature documentary - as seen at Sheffield Documentary Festival 2014 - More about the festival here / https://sheffdocfest.com/ https://sheffdocfest.com/films/5701

http://www.mrsomebody.co.uk/blog/2011/april/2011/april/intro_blog

lighter e mail leeds size.jpg

It is so important to network and attend festivals to gain that understanding of where you can place yourself as a filmmaker and understand which tools can be used to help you continue your path.

I picked Indiegogo as I trusted the platform after seeing other filmmakers use it . Even the Sheffield Documentary Festival used the platform .

One thing to think about and understand when using Indiegogo is to make sure you select FLEXIBLE FUNDING!
This way if you do not reach the goal - you still get your funds. If you select FIXED. You get nothing !
Which is a total mind melt!

One of the most helpful books - which is so good to read before crowdfunding is :

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Crowdfunding-Filmmakers-John-Trigonis-ebook/dp/B00GPCF83Q/ref=asap_bc?ie=UTF8

Crowdfunding for Filmmakers offers practical information, tips, and tactics for launching a successful film campaign by detailing traditional models of fundraising, utilizing today’s technological and social innovations, and augmenting each step with an added personal touch. The book examines various ways to meet and exceed one’s crowdfunding goal through chapters on team building, audience outreach, and crowdfunder etiquette, along with a section containing case studies from successful film campaigns.

I planned my campaign for way over 2 years and I did not jump into it easily! Every perk was well thought out and all the designs were created by DAMO SUZUKI'S NETWORK , which was really wonderful . The team spirit!
https://www.damosuzuki.com/

I also made sure I had a website , I created my official site in 2014. I was already building awareness. I also created a twitter and facebook page to reach out to others . After these steps. The book above then gives a really great insight on how to engage and connect .

To be able to share my passion and updates online via crowdfunding was a fantastic experience and I have met some amazing people along away. I am really grateful to everyone that helped me reach this point!

I will try to create a more detailed blog on the types of online marketing I did during my campaign.
Have a fab weekend!
Michelle Heighway
Director of ENERGY - A Documentary About Damo Suzuki
www.energythefilm.co.uk
small twitter insta Damo-Flyerside-2.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @michelleheighway! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

So great to read your first blogpost on Steemit :-)

I just recently asked myself how the editing of the film is going and it's awesome to read, that you completed Phase 1 of the edit.

Also thanks for sharing those tips about crowdfunding ;-) Definitely looking forward to reading more about your crowdfunding experiences!

Thanks Shortcut and thanks so much for the RS! Thanks again for all your posts! I sent you a ***Signed Re-Print Poster *** last week to say thanks again!!! Yes hopefully I can help other filmmakers with my shared experiences of #crowdfunding!! : )

Awesome, I just receive the poster today!! Thank you so much, that was really a nice surprise :-)
I haven't posted about the other perks yet, because I thought I eventually could use them as a giveaway to promote the finished film. At least I want to give something back to the community, as it has mostly been their upvotes, that made it possible for me to get those ;-)

That is so kind of you! : ) -- you must keep the poster!!! E N E R G Y

Sure! I will definitely keep that poster and probably also the signed photography of Damo ;-) Much energy to you, too!

Can only wish you all the best michelle, sounds awesome

Thank-you Rockyozz - very kind of you. Nice to meet you on Steemit!

Congratulations @michelleheighway! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloweeen story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @michelleheighway! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 10 replies. Your next target is to reach 50 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @michelleheighway! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!