5 major problems your actors will give you while shooting your first indie feature film.

in #filmmaking7 years ago (edited)

This month I finished shooting my first indie feature film, the film is now getting edited. In this post I will tell you some of the problems I faced during the production of my film. This is keeping in mind that we are making an indie film with very less budget and this post is not about professional actors with experience. This post is gonna be useful for both film makers and actors. I will also be providing few tips on how to deal with the problems. Before we start, I have to tell you this post can be a little bit controversial. But, This is my personal opinion and I'm just telling you what I experienced. Lets dive in.

"Actors are cattle" - Alfred Hitchcock

The above words may seem rude, but the meaning behind it is deep. Actors are also artists. But, they are one of the most vulnerable type of artists. Because, acting is the only art which is dependent on other artists. To get a good performance, the actors need a good director, a good co-actor and an efficient crew. Acting can get really difficult if the all these things are not there. This will also make actors very vulnerable. We all have to respect actors, because without them there won't be any film. 

Problem #1 - No discipline in the set

When shooting your indie film, you are most likely not able to afford professional actors and you are most likely to ask your friends or family to act in your film. Since, they are your friends they will be all over the place. They will think they can do anything and everything in the set. And when you tell them not to do something or to sit at one place or to not disturb other actors when they are acting their reaction is some thing like this. 

This will again lead to a lot of unwanted discussion in the set, which in the end will be eating a lot of your time. 

This can be solved by telling them you are the boss in your set. I was also facing this same problem for first few days. Then I shouted at on of my friend because he was disturbing other actors by making them laugh. By shouting at him it made everyone clear that I was very serious about the work I was doing. If you are not serious then there will be no discipline.

Problem #2 - The continuity 

Many non-actors or armature actors don't understand the concept of continuity. This mistake is also seen in professionals work too. Your actors should look the same in each shot. What non-actors usually do is they will comb their hair for every new take which will make their hair look slightly different at each shot. If you are using a cigarette in your scene make sure the length of the cigarette is the same in every shot, you might need more than on cigarette to shoot the scene.

Non-actors tend to move around after their shot is taken and totally forget how they stood or where they stood and also their posture. It is good to show the actors their previous shot and making them to mimic the position just like the previous shot. 

To avoid mistakes like this, just remind your actors to remember their position sand posture before the relax. This will save you a lot of set time.

Problem #3 - Dialog memory

If you are trying to make an Al Pachino out of your stoner friend, then make sure your camera is completely charged, because he may take 500 takes to tell his dialog properly. 

 Dialog can make or break the scene. One of the techniques used by film maker to make the actors look like they are telling the dialog are by shooting them from back and telling them to do some gestures with their hands. After the shot is taken the voice is added later. This is one of the solution.

But, since you know that you are gonna use your stoner friends for acting. Then try to avoid complicated dialog in the scenes. There are other ways to avoid dialog. Show not tell.

Problem #4 - No commitment 

This has happened to me more than a few times. Many people will agree to act in your film, but on the day of the shoot  they might not come. People like this will create a lot of trouble to you and all the actors. So, look for people who can commit. Make sure your actor doesn't have a girl-friend or boy-friend, I know this may seem funny. But, most of the time I get trouble from the actors loved ones, It could be their parents too sometimes. 

There's no way to really solve this problem. You just have to trust your actors. Anyways you will not be able to pay your friends for the acting they do, because of the budget. So, you can't really blame them. Who would want to act in your film if there a party in town.

Problem #5 - Actors who wants to become a Super Star


If a person is in your team and is trying to become a Super star celebrity actor, please avoid that person. It is really difficult to make these people do certain things. People like this will not be ready to say certain dialog or do a certain scene because they think that it will ruin their image. Try to avoid these people because they could be a real pain in the ass during the shoot. 

One incident that happened during my shoot is an actor was not ready to lay on the ground and pretend to be dead. In the end I wore his outfit and played dead face down so that the face is not seen. 

One last thing I want to tell is don't be afraid when there is a problem. If there is a problem the solution is always around the corner. Cheers !

You may also like my other posts,

12 Angry men - How a movie changed law in The Great Britain

Red String. A sci-fi short film about the universe.

The Guardian - A short-film about how everything happening in our lives happens for a reason



Sort:  

I used to face these kinda problems with musicians in my band as well as teachers at my academy. Anything which people are doing as a side business or 'hobby', they will not take it seriously.

You Indian? Followed you :)

Hey @hardikv , Yup I'm an Indian from south. Nice music you make man :)

Thanks man! Following you 😁

Your welcome

This is a brilliant post. One of my goals is to star the lead role in a Hollywood film. So, this is awesome constructive notes for anyone looking to be a better actor too!! Just avoid all these things and you'll have an edge :)

Thanks for this my dude. Talk soon.

Thank you @enazwahsdarb , Here's what people who want to star the lead role don't know. It is very difficult or very easy to get a lead role. The truth lot of actors don't know is, audition are not for the actors its for the characters. The film makers give importance to the character than your biceps. So, one of the best thing you can do which will increase the chance of getting a lead role is build a portfolio. Make indie films with small film makers like us, who are in a constant search for actors who are passionate. By doing this both your acting and directors directing careers can be formed.

Thanks for that tip! I have never actually been able to talk to anyone about how I would do it because no one really knew how to achieve what I wanted to.. It's amazing how the Law of Attraction works.

I have never acted in anything before, and everyone around me is doubting the the fact that I'll be able to do it, but I don't really listen to all that crap. The way I see it, all those famous Hollywood actors are only human, so why not? Let's do this! :)

If you'd like to connect, you can come talk on my blog.

Sure, you connect with me anytime. I'm active in steemit.chat

Good for you. I love that you see this post as a positive... your attitude will go along way. If I could add one thing? It drives me crazy on set... when the crew is focused and scrambling to set up a shot...please no show tunes :)

Thank you @agbaba . We'll I don't really have a crew, Its just a few of my friends doing multiple jobs.

Thanks for that man. What exactly is show tunes?

I guess I should have said, Broadway show tunes"! :)

Congratulations @nandan! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @nandan! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Interesting article! Fortunately the stars that I have bumped into during my interactions with the film industry were quite nice and down to earth. I knew some of them through common friends so that helps.

But why did the "superstar" actor refuse to play dead?

Upvoted, resteemed and following.

We'll one of the main reason was he was supposed to play dead on a wet ground, he was trying to avoid the mud touch his body. Btw, thanks for the compliments @maxabit

This is so true, but I feel like number one would lead to so many other issues. Seems like focus is the common factor always faced when shooting an indie film. Nice work on listing a few, I had a good laugh while reading. Only because I can relate, haha. Cheers!

#f4f

Hey thanks @nibzter8 , Yeah you are right #1 is the most common one.

Very good issues :))

Thank you @foxkoit , nice photographs you got there :)

Thank you!! I try soon more but up :)

Great post
I agree with you that every problem always have a solution

I don't have problems with the actors wanting to be a superstar, because I am still doing no budget films. I can't afford for them to be superstars. LOL

BTW, the people (grips?) who are supposed to catch if things are out of place from one shoot to another should either be paid more or shot in the court yard after editing has finished.

Hi @deanlogic , what I'm telling is the actor who wants to be a superstar who is not ready to put the effort is a problem. Some, of the best actors started by making indie films. Yeah totally agree with you about grips. :)

The actor that feels they still have plenty to learn and are willing to take critiques are the best to have.

totally

reminds me a little of working in education lol. am gonna follow you

Thanks a lot @rawpride . I did not know education also has problems like these.

What was the total budget for this?

Hello @sikawura , This is a completely zero-budget film. All my actors worked for free. The locations were also free. I shot it instead of hiring a cinematographer. Trying to recreate El Mariachi (if you know what I'm telling) :)

I had a lot of problems with flat out entitlement. Also the whole union vs nonunion makes for a lot of outrageous times.

Yeah entitlement is a big problem in filmmaking, especially if you are making a low or zero budget film.

I am new as you …found it is a lot of fun if you like doing it ..

https://steemit.com/travel/@jyotirmay/some-beautiful-place-in-india

If you find it interesting UPVOTE and please click on the FOLLOW and let’s exchange comments in the future. Very much rewarding.

Good luck,
@jyotirmay

for me the three is the major problem

Yeah dialog is a bitch. lol

great!!
motivating the budding bloggers, https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@ihariskhan/btc-chain-split-fake-news,it's if like it follow me please!!

I did not know that people in point no.5 exist

They do @crypt0kn1ght , you are very luck you haven't come across one.

Wow! I didn't know how it's realy difficult to make a movie. You are cool! Great post! Waiting for your movie to watch)

Hey thanks @landria , Right now I'm editing it. It will take a few more months for the release. The trailer will be out soon. :)

Oh! Can't wait!

Right on point. It's the professionalism that so needs to be stressed. Even though acting is an art it needs to be supported by discipline and respect. Can't even tell you how many new actors fall by the wayside because they lack simple manners and follow through.

Agree with you totally. Most of the actors will lose their careers because of their attitude.

Sad and they don't even know what happened :(

As a script supervisor that I am CONTINUITY is huge. That fights I hear directors get into about it is interesting. A good script super will keep the actors on their toes like it or not.

Yeah.. Continuity is probaly one thing actors should learn and master. It will make life very easy for edito

This is so true. I've had experiences working sound on a few indie productions, and some actors would come up with some ridiculous ideas about what they would and wouldn't do. Absolutely unreasonable stuff too. So yeah, as director, you need to put those people in their place or, better yet, avoid working with them at all.

Totally agreed

Great post! You have very good attitude and good tips for folks looking to be an actor, esp in a country like India where we have actors dreaming to be noticed on every street! Good one :)

Nice suggestions regarding actor handling! Do indie filmmakers give chance to non actors as actors in their films? What would be the best way to find such indie filmmakers?

@siddartha , Indie film makers don't usually call for auditions or anything like that. You can join your nearest drama club, in drama clubs or drama classes there will be lot of people who will be trying to get into films ans will also be making short films. Try making friends there. That's how I got few of my actors. And drama clubs are very cheap they are willing to teach you for free also sometimes. You can both learn and network from there and together you can make a film. There's no right way to find indie film makers, you just have to hustle a lot.

Thanks, that's indeed a very nice suggestion. I would love to give it a try. :)

Brilliant!, great post, thank you for sharing.

Wow. You seriously have to know a lot to be part of the film industry ...

I'm still learning about the industry, I'm not yet a professional. Thank you @christina.red for the feedback :)

Thanks for this, it's quite funny as well as informative. I just came up with an idea to shoot a short movie myself, and you give some great ideas to avoid entirely in creating each shot to minimize personal issues as well as making sure it actually gets made.

As a director, I personally love working with actors. It's not easy but I find it to be the most creative job once you're on set. If you have a strong script and know your characters inside and out, it makes communicating with actors so much easier.

I'm in the development phase of my first indie film as well. I'd be interested in knowing more about the film you just shot.

Nice post.