My experience with cross processing film

The other day, one of our regulars at the coffee shop I work at, came in and gifted me a few rolls of Expired Fuji sensia 100. I got excited when I later realized it was slide film.

For me, when it comes to both time and expense, color negative film and 41 chemicals, are just more practical. Also, decent slide film is getting harder and harder to find these days. For these reasons I’ve never bought slide film, and the idea of cross processing (using c41 process opposed to E6 ) was out of the question. But now that I finally had the chance, I decided to take my chances and try my hand at some Xpro.

5430540E-5089-4FA8-9FFA-60EEFAACEE20.jpeg

D6A1874E-62DA-4775-89E4-A775BC215924.jpeg

65E4F8EB-B557-43F3-8CA9-EB72B4F1DEF2.jpeg
818D34CA-8D63-4EB8-A619-7A1B615712DD.jpeg

78DC5A0E-38BF-45F4-8FCC-1E3AA0DF7911.jpeg

    It kind of breaks the flow, but I had to throw this little guy in here

12EE19AB-51C7-4B77-9206-BF3DC88555AE.jpeg

I used a Minolta x-370 with a Rokkor 50mm f1.7 metered to 100 iso.

Overall, I was a little uncertain where to set my meter initially. I was unable to find much information on if I needed to compensate for the cross process or not. In the end I was pleased with the result. But Due to a lot of my shots being a little overexposed, I’m most likely shooting my next roll at around 200-300

Let me know if you got any pointers.
Thanks!

Sort:  

Really glad you included the cat, it made me smile in my heart.

Thanks! His name’s Oden. My friend just got him last week.

In cross processing it is generally good to overexpose or overdevelop +1. It gives you a clearer image.
Kodak EPP 100 is the easiest one; Fujis are more complicated as they turn to a greenish hue quickly...

Thanks for the advice, I may try and change up my development for the next roll.

Really nice! I've been hoping to get into slide film myself but I'm too broke. Wanna try some Velvia when it gets brighter out.

I could go for some velvia too, although I wish kodak would release ektachrome.

Supposed to come soon, interested to see it too!

Nice results.

I like the outcome, cross processing is amazing. Last month I tried cross processing negative color film, but the only studio in my country that still used E6 chemicals turned me down under the reason that no one uses slide film anymore 😭.

I never thought about trying that. I think I may need to try and find some E6 chemicals soon.

Yes, I'm sure you won't be disappointed with the results! :)