Shooting medium format film (120 film) update/Progression!!

in #filmphotography5 years ago (edited)

Shooting 120 film


About 5 months ago I told you guys about my first time shooting medium format film on a Hasselblad 500cm, with the 6x6 film back. In the five months, I've been MIA on steemit, a lot more 120 film has been shot. So, I wanted to create a blog post talking about my progression and showing some of the pictures i took, using 120 film.

The modular Hasselblad system:

About 5 months ago, I shot with the Hasselblad for the first time ever! Loading the film was a hell for the first 2 rolls, but after that, it was pretty much smooth sailing. I really fell in love with the modularity of the Hasselblad system over the course of 5 months, even though I only used the camera with the 120mm lens and the 6x6 film back.

I already loved the slow pace that analogue photography caters itself to, but something about focusing through the waist level viewfinder is just wonderful and really spoke to me, I simply loved every second of it.

Focusing through the ground glass was..an experience to say the least. At first, it was a bit awkward and embarrassing how long it took me to get the image hair-sharp, but as time went on, it became second nature.

Film choice:

I exclusively shot B&W 120 film for the past 5 months, simply because I can develop my own B&W film. I can't let anyone but me touch my negatives, so when I started shooting film I said to myself that no matter what happens, I will always develop and scan my own film.

So, I shot a variety of different B&W films. In the course of five months, I've shot: Ilford Delta 100, Ilford HP5, Ilford FP4+, but ultimately settled with Kodak's T-Max 100.

I simply liked the outcome of the T-max images best. No grain, good contrast, and good latitude,... I've used the film almost exclusively with T-Max developer. At times where there wasn't any T-max left, Kodak D-67 did the trick (1+1 dilution.)

Images:

I've only used the Hasselblad in a studio setting. Here are some of my favorites from this semester. All shot on Kodak T-Max 100.

MEREL_75_001.jpg


ROBIN_75_002.png


FLOOR.png


You've reached the end of this post. Thanks for reading! if you have any questions, critique, anything at all, feel free to comment below :) I'll do my best to reply to each and every one​ of you :) Liked what you saw? Consider​ following me on Instagram

Sort:  

Hello @lennertdirkx, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!