Exclusive Timetravel: From Print to Scan

in #filmphotography4 years ago
Authored by @captainklaus

Laborator1000.JPG
This is where it is happening in the lab:
The enlarger, projecting the negative onto the paper.

ReproStation.jpg
And this is the other end of things: Scan/repro of the print.
You notice the similarities between those tools?


What I love is the mixture of different eras; The enlarger is from the mid 80s, the contraption used for the repros (also an enlarger) is hight-tech from the 60s, and the digitizing tool is a high-end digital scanback from 1999. Each of them un-affordable when new....


All in all you can say: A collection of the bests of their times!

Sort:  

All in all you can say: A collection of the bests of their times!

that pretty much sums up my thoughts about the Lynotype-Hell Ultra 2 saphir scanner I own.. passively. it was a quest to make

Did you also have to go through an SCSI madness?

I loved the moment when I had to downgrade my stoneage mac to an earlier OS. 9.2. is a time travel!

actually, no. I had a working SCSI card. but it was the reason I kept my XP on my old PC. and not until this spring, when I upgraded it to a more or less new PC (2-nd handed), with win 10 onboard. I could not even have Youtube working on XP ...
the biggest problem was that I had no drivers for it!
(no drivers for win XP, believe me or not). at some point I managed to get the drivers... and enjoyed original lynotype scanning soft. For now, I changed XP too win 10, and own that scanner just like a massive decoration, it stopped working at all. but I cant part myself with it!!!! cause, indeed, its top of the tops, best of from its time -- i enjoy this formula so much! - I cant afford it in the proper time, but can now (haha).

A nice massive decoration it must be! Maybe even better than running it; servicing has become quite a big part of my life... But then it is very satisfying!