Colored concrete stairs

in #filmphotography6 years ago

print01.jpg
Hi there.

I am back from vacation, and it feels great. But coming back to normal life, I feel like I need to shake my routines a little bit. Not sure what I want to do with my photography either. It's just a hobby, sure, but I tend to take hobbies seriously, and I'm getting a bit tired of my current approach. Also I don't know if I'll keep posting here on a daily basis anymore. I am feeling maybe I should do only one post for every roll I develop, with the shots I like best, and be done until the next.

Well, ideas welcome.

Kodak Portra 160 | Fuji GS645S | 60mm

Sort:  

I find that posting a few of my favorite frames from a particular roll, or day, works best for me. Keeps a good flow. Allows time for me to reflect on the images and/or the process I used, and what I learned.

I’ve never seen Portra give this effect - alt developing process used, or just some funky stairs?

Thanks for your input. Yeah, I have not been a heavy poster by any mean, but I feel like I might want to take things even slower.
Regarding the shot, nothing special about the developing process, just some very funky use of complementary colors on a concrete stair, exposed to the winds of an Okinawan beach.

whatever you decide is ok as long as you keep posting :-) I think we need more film photography contests/challenges...I love to see great photos and be amazed by the work of other people...but I think we are missing some kind of place to put it together...@victorbz is doing some nice thing with his daily inspiration...we should have more of that

thank you for the mention !
i'm not too good with a creative ideas - i'm just a photographer who shoot both digital and film and i really want to see some more great stuff and less food/snaps/selfies here in my feed :-)

Happy that you are back. I would miss your posts here because I really find them inspiring although I can understand, that keeping a high output is sometimes taking away precious time from other interests

Thanks a lot @doctorclick. I think I'll keep posting somehow, but probably not on a daily basis anymore.

just don't forget to put #filmphotography to the tags you use :-)))))

Definitely, that's always my main tag!

He's back! ...and in color!
You were missed :) How much film did you shoot?

Hey Sloe, thanks! I shot about half a dozen of 135 (b&w only), and about as many 120 (mostly color). I was heavily disctracted by son and his cousins though. I am afraid they might have monopolized a large share of these rolls ;) Hopefully I will find a few images worth sharing here among the stack of children smiles. I am still not done developing them, and while I can't wait to see the results, I am not looking forward to the scanning chore!

Rad, children's smiles mean you probably had a great time. Hope you shot all of your PAN-F! (Can you get them scanned at the lab? It's super cheap here if I have the rolls left uncut.)

I usually don't like the way they scan (too much contrast, low res, no Tiff), so I'd rather do it myself. I don't hate it that bad after all, it gives me chances to reflect on each frame... while I'm digitally dedusting it...

And yes, I did shot a couple of rolls of panf on overcast days, looking forward to these as well.

Welcome back. Can't wait to see your future posts.