Sicario (film): An interesting take on the war on drugs

in #films5 years ago

This film has been on my Netflix list for a long time. Originally released in 2015 and starring Benicio del Toro, and Thanos.. i mean Josh Brolin, it has a lot of elements that I look for in a film.


source

The film actually focuses mostly on a female agent named Kate Macer (Emily Blunt) but I don't recognize her from anything so that is why i mentioned the fellas.... She is an FBI agent who works busting cartels and because of her performance she gets invited to be part of a team lead by Matt Graver (Josh Brolin) who works in a rather unorthodox fashion and appears to be given everything that he needs without needing to report to anyone "higher up." This is evidenced in the first scene we see him in where he is in a conference room with very important people and he is sporting casual clothes including flip-flops.

She is later introduced to a mysterious agent Alejandro Gillick (del Toro) whom she is given very little background information on when she accepts her position to this joint task force that was created by the Department of Justice.


source

Their mission is to bring down the Mexican drug cartel, or so it would appear. As the story carries on we become privy to the real objective and while this film is fiction, some of the overall points that they make seem very believable in a real-life situation. I am intentionally being vague about this because it would be a massive spoiler to do otherwise.


source
The night-vison and thermal cams form a 1st person perspective were pretty awesome

The movie is entertaining not just because of this plot twist, but also the overall direction of the film, in particular the action sequences, is kept tense by the 1st person perspectives, the driving musical score, and the various settings they find themselves in. Agent Kate Macer goes through a crisis of conscious as she tries to come to terms with this clandestine organization that she was thrust into.

While this film wasn't a tremendous success at the box office, it did make a decent profit. It's failure to capitalize more has a lot to do with the fact that it was released the same weekend as "The Martian" and "The Walk," which had far larger marketing campaigns than Sicario.

I found Sicario to be well done and also captivating because of its potential real-life connections. There are some dull moments but as it turns out they are pretty essential to understanding the entire story. Plus a film can't just be flat-out action the whole way through. I can't rank this super high because it is missing a few elements that I can't exactly put my finger on.

On a scale of "Urgh!" to "Wowsers!" I give Sicario the overall score of......


hqdefault2.jpg
Yip Yip Yip!

Sort:  

That was a fun one for me.
Enjoyed it.
Villeneuve is such a good director.

Posted using Partiko Android

I thought it was quite predictable, had expected more judging from early reviews. I may review it some time in the future on my steemit blog

I went to this movie with really low expectations, but I was really pleasantly surprised.

It's a hard film to watch at times, though. Very intense. It handles its subject matter in a very intelligent way, though, and the soundtrack is something I still listen to all the time (and can recognize when I hear it places, which is not uncommon).

Yeah, that main song is extremely haunting and a very good choice for them to use. I am certain i will remember it in the same way.

I liked this movie, I think the border scene is suffocating. In fact, there is a sequel that I have not seen yet.

I remember when this movie came out. I had the chance to go see it in the theater with a group of colleagues, but I ended up not going. I still haven't seen it, but everything I have heard about it, make it seem pretty amazing. I like this kind of movie that has a bit of a slow burn and some international intrigue. The first season of Jack Ryan on Amazon Prime was really good and makes me think of this movie.

Beautifully filmed.

Posted using Partiko iOS