You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Edward Scissorhands (film): an odd, but wonderful film

in #films6 years ago

Tim Burton is a great director and can get a great cast out of movies. I remember seeing this movie in the theaters and loved it. It gave me more love for the acting chops of Johnny Depp even at an early age since seeing him on 21 Jump Street.

This was the first film that Depp & Burton worked on together and Burton must have seen something in Depp from this movie as they have collaborated on several other movies together since (Ed Wood, The Alice In Wonderland Movies, Sleepy Hollow, Charlie and The Chocolate Factory, Dark Shadows, etc.). They are a dynamic team and a force to be reckoned with at the box office it seems.

But this was an incredible review without giving away too many spoilers, and you hit the nail on the head when it comes to people back in the day going to see movies based on directors. I am the same way. For instance, while I was not a big fan of the original Star Trek franchise, I saw the newer ones because they were directed by JJ Abrams and I loved them. He brought something to life to them for me that made me enjoy them.

Thank you for a great write up!