You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Skin Deep - Finish The Story #61

in #finishthestory5 years ago

I read this last night and was impressed by your craft.
In her "beginning', @brisby tells us much through subtle details. Arnav's character for example: he was afraid to create a fuss; his heart was beating like a drum; he was undergoing the procedure to please his wife, not himself.
You reveal Lara to us with similar subtlety. The last line validates Arnav's apprehensions. She embraces him because he looks like her. This is supposed to be a "happy" ending, but of course it's not. We discover Lara to be as superficial as Arnav feared. Her love is a tinsel affair, worth not very much at all. Certainly not worth Arnav's abdication of self.
I can't wait to get my teeth into this story. I have the plot worked out in my head and am grateful for the Thursday deadline. This will give me needed time to join the story-telling fray.