You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Finish the Story Contest - Awakenings

I do indeed! Thank you! :) I haven't read or studied much philosophy, but the concept of collective memory sounds intriguing. Given how so many people, despite their many cultural differences, share certain gestures, attitudes, behaviors, and taboos in common, that sounds very plausible.

The relationships (or history) between the oppressors, the oppressed and the liberators are very interwoven, complex and not very transparent. Often you don't know who is actually starting a conflict and theoretically you would have to go back to the beginning of time to find a "guilty one" and even then you wouldn't get anything out of it. Causes and their effects are not as linear as they sometimes seem. There are always enough helpers to encourage the "evil" and also to encourage the "good".

This is an excellent insight, and worth bearing in mind both when writing fiction and trying to make sense of real world conflicts! Thank you for sharing it, and also your thoughts on the significance of ceremonies, both in fiction and in your own life.

Finally, I wanted to express my sincere condolences for the loss of your mother. I'm happy the funeral gave everyone a chance to commemorate and celebrate her!

Sort:  

I'll come back to you tomorrow. Your answers deserve more than just superficiality. But I am tired and will now do more stupid things:)
Good night from here.

I dig it! Looking forward to doing more stupid things is how I make it through the day. :) Enjoy!

:) Smile.

This is an excellent insight, and worth bearing in mind both when writing fiction and trying to make sense of real world conflicts! Thank you for sharing it, and also your thoughts on the significance of ceremonies, both in fiction and in your own life.

Yes, it's good to bear it in mind as it gives inspiration and your fiction much space to expand and build multi dimensional characters. I am looking forward to fiction and art of yours.

Thank you for your kind words about my mothers death. That you put some words to me mentioning it lets me feel connected to you.