You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SoCal Fire Report - August 8 - Mendocino Complex fire estimated to burn until September/ Go Bag Suggestions

I was only 18 so most the stuff I had was just crap anyways. Really it just sucked having to get new clothes and that kinda day to day stuff. But there was a bunch of people who helped us out. We never really rebuilt. We dug the house out of the mud, removed all the rocks and logs, and then made it somewhat hospitable. I lived there for a few years after the big flood and each winter when it rained we'd have smaller floods. And living with no gas, electricity, or running water was pretty tough. So that's when I moved here to the house I live in now. My dad still stayed up there for awhile before moving to AZ. After dad moved out I tried to fix the place up. Built a new bridge across the creek, got the utilities hooked up, and tried to get some renters. But the place was still in bad shape and the only renters I could get were not high quality and it all just turned out to be a pain in my ass. So I sold the property, but that didn't go well either. I lost $144,000 on that deal. I don't drive up Waterman canyon anymore... I don't even want to see it. ...But yeah, I survived the fires and the floods and the aftermath!!

Sort:  

Snap dude. That's a lot to lose. You had told me part of this story once. I didn't know the whole context. I'm glad you're in a better position now.