Photos from Smokey WA State

in #fires7 years ago

Hello Everyone,

While the world watches the hurricanes Montana is a burning inferno, and there are many fires in ID, OR, WA, and CA also.  The air quality near Spokane has been "Very Unhealthy to Hazardous" for about a week.  The photo below was taken last week, note the haziness of the sky. By last weeks standards we thought this was pretty smokey.

The beautiful sunflowers are in bloom.

*photo by M. Baker


The difference a week makes...

*photo by M. Baker

The photos are from the same field from a different angle, and my friend actually captured the color of the air here.

It is normal for the Sunflowers to "hang their heads" after blooming with the difference in the air conditions it makes for an interesting photo. 

On a personal note it feels kind of strange to breath this mess and just keep on doing normal things.  It feels odd in that there is really nothing anyone can do about it.    My anxiety is high although we have nothing to fear where I am located,the smoke is just making me feel anxious and on edge, and a bit suffocated.  I know there are many dealing with harsher situations by far.  One of my normal coping tool is deep breathing.  The delight of sucking in what smells like campfire smoke is not as calming as fresh air.  :)

We are on high fire alert and we are not to operate a lawn mower or use an outdoor BBQ, and most are staying indoors as much as possible.

 Meanwhile, I have a lot of Montana friends who are currently displaced or packed and ready, and oddly enough the smoke is helping to fight the fires, as it chokes out the fires and keeps the temperatures down.  Many of the fires are in areas where they are difficult to fight and they will just burn until Winter puts them out.  At this time, with all of our technology and tools, Mother Nature still seems to be winning this round.

Reporting from Smokey Eastern WA, I'm @whatsup.

Sort:  

I'm in Spokane as well and the only way I can describe it is apocalyptic. I have never seen smoke this bad. I think part of the reason is that it's stuck around so long. Usually if this happens it blows away in a couple days, but we're going on a week now and it's crazy nasty. Stay safe out there!

Was in the California Sierras last weekend and you could smell smoke up there also, crazy. The world is underwater or burning down, or someone is blowing it up.

I was thinking about that today, and it isn't that the whole world is under water, it is that we hear about the negative so much.

It's just nasty and otherworldly; yesterday I walked to work and there was just the faintest outline of the sun in the sky... at around noon. Didn't see it again. Took out the trash to the garage at 11:00 last night and the moon was-- very briefly-- a ghostly red shadow.

I stood there, for a bit... the stillness was disturbing; not the faintest hint of breeze; we're by the water but the sea is as smooth as a sheet of glass, not a sound of night birds; even our local flock of coyotes not making themselves heard.

I am not sure what it is... maybe ancient instincts we didn't consciously know we have? It feels... apocalyptic out there. It's eerily damp/cold, there's no horizon... but unlike fog (which is common here) it's dirty, not clean grey/white. Meanwhile, tiny white particulate hangs in the air and I've had that "I'm about to get a headache" feeling for about 72 hours now...

You are so right about it feeling apocalyptic and just unsettling.

I'm having some "mood" issues. I realized today, that I am feeling stressed even though I can't rationalize it.

They say there is some hope for clearing over the weekend. I sure hope so.

This is pollution? please say me no i read that yes but i want to see answer saying no

It is smoke from several forest fires.

sad image a strong hurt in nature

I'm in Walla Walla right at the base of the Blue Mountains. I can't even see the mountains. The smoke has rolled in this the past 2 days from the Cascade Locks fire. The smoke just travels up the Columbia river and settles in.

I am a lineman and often times have to go to these big fires and restore the electricity. It definitely gives you a creepy feeling when u are in the woods and it is getting dark and I stumble across a house that is completely demolished. Melted kid toys and random kitchen items that are half melted. Surrounded by nothing but charred trees and shrubs.

My heart goes out to everyone having to deal with these fires and hurricanes. May God protect you all and keep your family's safe.

Yes, I keep reminding myself I am inconvenienced not harmed. Huge difference. Thank you for your work. Stay safe.

IMG_7753.JPG

This is a pic headed back to the shop. Normally the mountains would damn near take up the whole background.
Sorry windshield is kinda dirty😏

What a gross mess. :) looks about the same.

2 days ago it was so painful to breath.
I felt like I smoked a couple trees.
the moon is trippy all dark red and stuff.

Really sorry about this.

Wow, that difference o.O I would be a little freaked out as well having this smoggy air, even if it's not dangerous it looks kinda nasty... Hope it waves over soon ;)

Thank you! I hope it blows over also, but we can't really hope for windy conditions either.

this fog and smokey reminds me normal days in winter/autumn in some towns of asia and in eastern europe :) for example in estonia blue sky only like 30 days in year.

I've heard a few people say that. I guess one would get used to it after a while.

Fires can be devastating and as you say, with all the technology we have today, these type of natural (whether they started natural or not) are so strong, we can only feel how weak we are when our big mamma earth is taking things into her own hands. I really like the sunflowers!

Forest Destruction Is Really Sorry About This. thanks @whatsup
100% like and resteem

@whatsup

I'm sorry for what has happened.
It is our duty to protect the environment. it is great post.
Let's make a beautiful environment.

@whatsup,
I heard this forest fire was started by a set of teenagers activity! OMG look how it's impacted on nature and I can't imagine how it impacted on people who lives near to this fired area!
I hope everything will be okay soon! And yeah mother nature with winter winds flush this off! Coz, she is the mother of all!
Great post and great photography! Thank you very much for sharing with us!

Cheers~

@whatsup - 'The air quality near Spokane has been "Very Unhealthy to Hazardous" for about a week.' this is a huge disaster ma'm. Stay safe, I hope nature will cure it by a rain. I wish to ReSteem your post.

+W+ [UpVoted & ReSteemed]

is it due to the fires that had made the atmosphere looks like this

OMG these are crazy times!

Nature is flexing its power, during it all down, washing it all away.....

I pray people find harmony~*~

ow that is shokking!

Under the thinning fog the surf curled and creamed, almost without sound, like a thought trying to form inself on the edge of consciousness.

This post has received a 6.67 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @whatsup.

amigo #resteemia at your service

few rains can bring this ashes to the ground. but it will make more problems indeed. this is a kind of chaos. useful information @whatsup

ReSteemia
'UpVote ReSteem Comment'

Thankyou for information my friend . . @whatsup. . I have followed you

that seems awful
feeling pretty bad

Yikes smokey is a understatement. Looks like shangai fog :P

Nice Post

hey I just followed you please follow me back and checkout my articles and upvoted you