I'm Certifiable

in #firstaid5 years ago

Second goal complete!

I just completed my Red Cross First Aid/CPR/AED class! I have done CPR/AED several times before, but not first aid certification (because I did the others through school or work, they didn't offer the first aid part).

Two first aid classes done! :)

My next goal will be to assemble a first aid kit, like, a proper one. It's one thing to know the skills, it's another to have the tools. That will of course take money, but it always works out somehow! Then, I want to do Wilderness First Aid. That's a bit trickier, not only because it costs more (naturally!), but also because those classes are a lot more rare. I even asked the instructor today and she said so, too. Like, there were no upcoming classes for it on the Red Cross website at all. A long time ago, I saw it offered through REI (an outdoor gear store), which might be my best bet (also because I've seen other REI classes meet at REI - which is the other side of downtown from me, so, bussable - and then all get on a bus to whatever wilderness/hiking trail/etc. Since I can't drive myself to the wilderness where a class would be, that's probably the only way I could do it).

I really like medical training. If I hadn't become so sick, I might be finished with the schooling I was working on and be an RN by now (also, if I hadn't been rather disillusioned by the medical system in America, but that's a different rant). I am disabled in many ways, but good in an emergency. I want to help people and be an asset to my community. So that's really why I want to do all this training and build a good first aid kit.

Plus, you know, with as fast as the US is circling the drain, it might be even more handy in the future than it is now... >.>

Yuan sez: it's hot (those are those reuseable ice cube dookickeys he's using as a pillow).

So that's my adventure for today. What are y'all up to?

Have a good day, Steem fam! <3

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

WOW . Congratulations on it. I remember I joined several volunteer training program arranged by fire service and red cross and other NGOs . These are really helpful in both personal, professional and social work. I hope you will be a great help for someone in urgent need. I dropped my certificates to a German university for admission as proof of my extra curriculum activities. Hope it will help too. best of luck for you. and have a great weekend.

That's awesome that you did that! :) You have a great weekend, too!

Congrats on the certifications and good luck in finding somewhere running the wilderness course,
Back in the 80s I had a few First Aid certifications back in NZ, but with all my traveling and living away from NZ I let them slip

Yeah my CPR/AED was definitely expired, so it was good to renew that, too. :)

Thats great and well done ;)

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! You have received a 3.76% upvote from us for your 445 Partiko Points! Together, let's change the world!