You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hi Steem

in #firstpost6 years ago (edited)

I follow you on Twitter and love your insights. Excited to see you posting on Steemit.

I've been fascinated with the experiment here. I have no idea if it will survive, but there are a lot of vibrant discussions and thoughtful commentary here.

What intrigues me most is just how much human governance goes into Steem, especially with DPoS. The politicking of witnesses is fascinating. The epic "flagging" battles with whales (negative upvoting). The hand-wringing over self-upvoting. The lingering effects of a heavily stilted token distribution from the initial launch and the community's attempts to level the playing field.

I'm far more impressed with the participants than Steemit, Inc.

It's given me an appreciation for what PoW uniquely offers, but also introduced me to a meaningful use case for DPoS (and PoS). And yet, one can imagine the trainwreck this sort of governance would have for Bitcoin.

// and yes, the UX leaves a lot to be desired. For me, there have been even more frustrating discoveries -- like the fact that posts stop earning money after 7 days. So a warning about spending a lot of time on an evergreen post that would have a solid ROI over time. It's basically a permanent, free donation to the blockchain after the 7 day payout period.