Fishing in Alaska

in #fish7 years ago

Went fishing yesterday in beautiful Prince William Sound in Alaska.

We set out around 7am from Whittier, Alaska and headed towards Montague Island:
(thanks google maps)

Whittier Capture.JPG

I captured all of these with my iphone:

fishing.jpg

Yes the seas were very calm.

Matt Halibut.jpg
Me with halibut I caught

ladies.jpg
Ladies with their rockfish, great eating.

Nick with fish.jpg
Nick with his rockfish and my halibut.

food.jpg
And the total of our days work. The little black and yellow one is a China Rockfish. I ate it tonight for dinner, amazing!!!

It was a great day, although long, but always fun.

And for those of you worried about over fishing, please note that Alaska Department of Fish and Game are some of the best managers in the world and will close fishing down for commercial and sport whenever it is required.

Anyway, I hope you enjoyed the photos of Alaska.

Please let me know if you would like to more like this as Alaska is certainly a special place.

Sort:  

@mbk that halibut would make the best chowder! do you know how heavy it was?

about 30 pounds. yes chowder is awesome... but I will be cooking some of the halibut fillets tonight!

sounds delectable

Good work men, Love fishing.

Men and women! We had a great time.

Omg I always wanted to go to Alaska! You are so lucky to see all the beauty of Alaska! :-)

Be happy! :-)

<----avid angler...I'll make it up to the Yukon for a few fishing expeditions eventually. Great catch bud! You have a new follower! I always make it a point to go through my list of followers and follow new fans. I also go to their blog and find an original post to comment on and resteem, see who I'm following and kind of introduce myself. I also am curious where you found me, as I would like to continue to grow and am keeping track of what's working and what isn't. I await your reply!

Honestly, I can't remember when I started following you. Mutual follower or perhaps you commented on someone else? Anyway, the Yukon is awesome for sure. I've rafted on it several times so let me know if you need further advice. Generally we'd start on a smaller river and then float into the Yukon. Fishing isn't so good though! Peace out and thanks!

Why is fishing not so good?

are those for reel? :)
Never seen such ginormous eye-balled red fish. Good stuff!

they are for real...

WOOOW great post
whats name fish plz?

Halibut are white on one wide and gray on the other. All the rest are variations of Rockfish.
The bright orange ones are called yellow eye-rockfish. The small one is a China Rockfish (black and yellow) and the others are black rockfish. We also caught sharks and Irish lords, but put them back.

Now thats what I call fishing! WOW

we crushed it for sure!

I never tried fishing how I wish I could..

Great post!

one of my favorite hobbies.. fishing.. love it

I don't fish but I love to eat it...Fishing sounds interesting though

Someone has to catch the fish you eat!
I ate some last night, it was awesome!

Holy smokes! Those are some big fish!

Do you live in Alaska, or are you visiting?

fishes wow
nice

very nice photos.

wait what those are some big ass fish hahaha!

Those fish are huge!

Nice post man, thanks for sharing!!

woww You are a skilled hunter

Holy minnow breath Batman, those rockfish are HUGE! And look almost fake and cartoony! lol

Those fish are huge and that Gold fish doesn't even look real with those eyes!

Wow amazing great Catch :)

looks like you had an awesome time

Excellent post my friend, visit my profile and read mine.