Running a mile under 6 minutes (My Journey in dropping 1 full minute) 6th run

in #fitness7 years ago

To see my previous run, check out the below post.
https://steemit.com/fitness/@aaagent/running-a-mile-under-6-minutes-my-journey-in-dropping-1-full-minute-5th-run
No pain no gain.

1.21 miles
Time: 8:57
Average pace: 7:24 (1 mile time was roughly 7:21)

IMG_2405.PNG
IMG_2406.PNG

Changed my route so I could get in a longer run. I posted in this week's earlier run from the gym that I felt like my body couldn't handle the 1 mile run well as I was starting to cramp about 1/4 the way into the mile. I'm working on alleviating this by running longer distances so my body won't fatigue as early. I will force my body to adjust to slightly longer runs so when I do cramp, it will be closer to the end and not beginning. The goal is to get to 1.5+miles at roughly a 7:10 per mile pace. I paced a bit slower today so I could run a bit longer. I started cramping around 3/4 a mile at today's pace. Not too bad but I also was not running with as high intensity as I normally do for the mile. The cramping pain hit about a 6/10 pain level at 1.21 miles so I just cut it there. Not too painful and the run was mediocre but I'm expecting this will help lay a stronger foundation for my mile.

Chase after those goals and see you guys on the next run!

Sort:  

Congratulations @aaagent! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Congratulations @aaagent! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

That's an awesome challenge. Best of luck doing the under 6 min mile. In what seems like another lifetime ago I ran track and did that. It's a lot of effort but worth it. I was in the best shape of my life when I ran distance.