Running a mile under 6 minutes (My Journey in dropping 1 full minute) 7th run

in #fitness7 years ago

1.28 miles
Time: 9:16
Average pace: 7:15 (1 mile time was roughly 6:52)

To see my previous run, check out the below post.
https://steemit.com/fitness/@aaagent/running-a-mile-under-6-minutes-my-journey-in-dropping-1-full-minute-6th-run
No pain no gain.

As you've probably noticed, I've been slacking. I really haven't been in the mood for running or working out and it took me 6 days to log this run from my previous. It's also been raining 4/6 days. If it wasn't for this log, I'd definitely be getting fatter and more out of shape. I was really worried I would be slower this run so I made it a point to focus and not slow down. Surprisingly, my mile time was a huge improvement from the last run. I almost beat my 6:50 time from a few weeks ago clocking in around 6:52 (i was trying to take a screenshot but messed up while running and that's why the time is off).1 mile.PNG

I felt my cramp kick in around half a mile but it was a small one so I didn't slow down. Maybe it was mental and I didn't want to dissapoint you guys, but I just kept running and even picked up the pace during the second half of my mile and almost beat my personal best time for the year. After the first mile, I pretty much dropped off the face of the earth and was pacing at 8 minutes+. I knew I had to keep going and pass 1.21 (last weeks distance) in order to get my body accustomed to running further with the goal of running 1.5 miles at a good pace. The cramp was pretty bad. The cramp pain felt like a 7/10 and after I finished which is still somewhat bearable. The pain lasted for a good 10 minutes after I finished even while walking during my cool down. I didn't really feel it that bad while I was running but I guess that's mind over matter for ya.

Very close to that 7:10 pace I had set as an interim goal. I just need to get to that pace at 1.5 miles. Overall a surprisingly good run!
Chase after those goals and see you guys on the next run!summary.PNG

Sort:  

I love it man keep it up! Staying healthy is a great stress release!

Thanks! I appreciate the vote of confidence. Still a long way to go before that sub 6 minute mile!

Congratulations @aaagent! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Running is not my kind f sport, but I really admire people who do:)

Yep. I was never a fan of running but gotta stay active if you want to stay in shape!