Running a mile under 6 minutes (My Journey in dropping 1 full minute) 9th run

in #fitness7 years ago

IMG_2513.PNG

Distance :1 mile
Time: 6:55 (best 6:50)

To see my previous run, check out the below post.

https://steemit.com/fitness/@aaagent/running-a-mile-under-6-minutes-my-journey-in-dropping-1-full-minute-8th-run

No pain no gain.

I've been running slightly longer distances to improve my endurance. After a few longer runs, I decided to see where my 1 mile time has improved to so this run is strictly 1 mile.

My overall run felt decent. I started off feeling good, not super fast but my body felt like it could handle the run without cramping. At the 1/2 mile mark, I was pacing slower than expected even though the Nike run app was showing my pace around 6:30/mile. I clocked in the half mile around 3:28. I stopped watching the clock from there and just kept running trying to not slow down. On the downhill spurt of the last 0.20 miles, I was moving my legs a lot faster than I normally do and managed to get a negative split in finishing the second half of the mile at 3:27.

I was not happy with my time but my body felt good. Very light cramp at the end of the run. I was not coughing as much after the run. I'm a very goal oriented person and I'm not happy moving backwards or staying stagnant too long. I'm going to increase the intensity going forward and will promise improvement.

Chase after those goals and upvote, follow @aaagent and resteem if you liked this post!
IMG_2514.PNG

Sort:  

That's more than a decent pace for a runner buddy :) All the best :)

thanks. Still not that good for me. At the end of the mile I can barely walk. The goal is to get sub 6 minute and get in better shape.

Congratulations @aaagent! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!