HOW FEMUR LENGTH AFFECTS YOUR SQUAT

in #fitness7 years ago

Greetings

There are a lot of things unique about each person's squat, but there are also some things that should be consistent across everyone, the biggest of those being that the bar should remain over the middle of the foot.

If we adhere to this rule, we can see how anatomical differences create uniqueness.

So let's talk about one of the most impactful anatomical variances...

Femur length.

When we say long femur vs short femur, we are comparing it to the torso. So there is no set line where you are classified as one or the other. It's simply a spectrum.

A longer femur will shift the hips back further from the midfoot so the torso must lean more to come back to it. Likewise, a shorter femur keeps the hip closer so the torso can be more upright. So don't be upset if your body naturally leans forward. It's normal for some of us.

Capture.jpg

This is just one thing that can affect torso lean. I have 5 more of these, some of which will allow you to be more upright and others that will force you forward, and I plan to cover them all so be on the lookout. But realize that none of us move exactly the same. We don't all fit into a "perfect technique" box. And that's ok. I want to help you build YOUR best movement.

Sort:  

Now I have the perfect excuse for not being more supple! Upvoted for making me feel better!

It's good.

Keep it up. @calvin87

Hi! I am a robot. I just upvoted you! I found similar content that readers might be interested in:
http://dirtynsta.com/DirtySearch/Location/570655040