Jump For Joy: My Week 3 Results Of The Crossfit Open

in #fitness6 years ago

CrossFit: 18.3 RESULTS

For those of you interested in how I perform each of the 5 weeks of the CrossFit Open, I post my results each Tuesday after the Monday deadline.


80’s Night At Friday Night Lights

27AD6965-E03E-4AE9-803C-C4CCE96F1C93.jpeg
Photo Used With Permission By Greg Skelly


We have just completed the third week (18.3) of the five week competition. Although I am a Coach, I'm NOT an elite athlete. I'm just a person, very similar to you. I'm considered a Master's athlete in the age category 40-44 years. I compete and post about it because it's fun taking part in a world-wide event with my CrossFit Community, and it's an opportunity to test my fitness to see what areas need improvement.

Hopefully, it may also inspire YOU to step outside your comfort zone to begin a workout program or even compete one day!

What Is 18.3?

If you missed my previous posts about the what, when, why, how and where of the 2018 CrossFit Open, you can catch up with 18.1 here, 18.2 here and 18.3 here. The third week of the Open caused us to:

“Jump For Joy!”


514C573B-8D2E-43D1-AF4F-A63B3426E7CA.jpeg
Source


Formidable Foe

Only a handful of people in the world finished this workout! This was tough. First of all, you have to be proficient in your Double Unders and have stamina to do 800 (if you finish the workout). Second, the Muscle-ups are extremely difficult and not many people can even do them, so they create separation in the pack. Third, and often underestimated, the heavy Overhead Squats and extremely taxing on the shoulders, along with everything else.

Shoulders...!

And THOSE are what got me. I’ve have nagging shoulder pain that I’ve failed to address, and it held me back here. Over half of the 20 reps of Overhead Squats at 80# we’re done as singles. Not to mention the fact that my stamina in Dubs is weak, stringing 5 together when I was tired. My results are below:


CEC3B6C3-19DE-4A96-AE91-33CFC6EADB38.jpeg
Source


My performance wasn’t as good as I hoped. I really wanted to have time to get to the Ring Muscle-ups to at least try to get my first one ever. But, it wasn’t to be.

18.4 will be released this Thursday at 7:00PM CST on The CrossFit Games Facebook Page. It's fun trying to guess what will be in the next workout; we even make a game it of it at our gym. I’m guessing Thrusters and Rope Climbs!

My main goal is to improve over last year's standings. This is where I stand after three weeks:


A38368AF-B555-4625-9D27-02B49FB64CD5.jpeg
Source


Thanks for following along and cheering me on; I need ALL the help I can get!


Hi Friends! Thanks For Reading!


received_1828048737268297.jpeg


Hi! My name is Coach JJ and I've been coaching and inspiring athletes to better health and fitness for over five years! I'm a CrossFit Level 1 Trainer at CrossFit Edwardsville in Edwardsville, IL, USA. But, my vision is to bring together the Fitness Community on Steemit in order to have a greater impact on improving the health and fitness of our fellow Steemians.

I'm also a mother of two teens and a self-defined “spicy, sassy Christ-follower” who posts about my personal journey, but loves all those on any journey. Feel free to check out my intro post, get inspired on your fitness journey, or ponder on my faith-based posts. If any of this connects with you, follow me and say Hello!

Happy Steeming,
Coach JJ


The STEEM Engine



Sort:  

I've tried crossfit and it kicked my ass! I run marathons but the high intensity and quick reps tuckered me out.
So I am amazed with anyone doing it.

Yes, it DOES kick your ass... but a half marathon kicked my ass harder and over a much longer period of time! Lol. And you do FULLS! That takes grit!

Hey @coachjj thats really awesome, congratulations and good luck with the rest of the Crossfit Open.
Regards @run.vince.run

Thank you so much @run.vince.run! I’m having fun with my friends, learning and growing...what more could I ask :)

This is a huge effort! Well done! While it's not as good as maybe you would have liked, it's still a very decent go at it!

Thanks @aussieninja! I appreciate your encouragement :)

It is not going to work, so you might as well stop trying to make me healthy.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

Hahaha, I’ll NEVER stop @catweasel ;)