(Hobby) Back into Broadway and the Woods

in #fitness2 years ago

Back To Broadway

I saw the musical Company this week. The play is about what it means to be single, married and divorced in your mid-30. I enjoyed it okay. The music was good but it was a little artsy for my taste. Despite recent updates to the script and songs, the play still feels dated (debuted in 1970).

While relationship troubles may have been a ground-breaking theme in 1970's Broadway, I feel like they are all-too-common in modern media. Though I am in a relationship in my early 30's, the play just didn't speak to me as a viewer in 2022 America. Overall, I did enjoy the experience; if what I described sounds interesting to you then you should definitely see it. I place Company in the B tier (below Come From Away, above Aladdin, and on par with Mean Girls). See the tier list of all the Broadway plays I have seen below.

Playbill and stage (from my seat)

image.png

Decorative bird

image.png

My Broadway Tier List

image.png

Exploring Suburban Woods

I visited Kean University for an afternoon. I took a walk around the wooded areas of campus and adjacent parks. It is nice to hear the sound of running water and have dirt underfoot (instead of the typical concrete). There was a light drizzle at the start but it eventually cleared up and the sun came out. Total walking distance: 3 mi.

Into the woods

image.png

Walking along the Elizabeth River

IMG_20220421_164119964.jpg

Crossing the Elizabeth River

image.png