[photogames] my fixit friday w7 entries

in #fixitfriday6 years ago (edited)

my entries for
photogames fixit Friday week 7
✧・゚:\ (^ヮ^ (ノ^ヮ^)ノ:・゚✧


below, you'll find my photo interpretations
together with the original pix and direct link to each contest.


challenge from @jarvie

left original. right my take on the photo.
view the contest here.

yaaaaay! Pix of milky way's galactic plane! as a fan of astrophotographs, this is my favorite for this week's fixit friday contest.

I tried to emphasize the galactic center, giving some punched highlights. I was half-tempted to darken most of the foreground soil, creating mere silhouettes, while further highlighting the car itself, but thought better when I saw the canyon at the right part has interesting details as well so I raised its shadows instead.


challenge from @derekkind

left original. right my take on the photo.
view the contest here.

I wasn't sure how to approach this photograph at first. Clearly, @derekkind wants us to make the tree as the main subject. I find the canyon ridges beyond an interesting background so I raised the exposure further to reveal its details. I cropped the right part, which I find the least appealing element of the photo, to give what I think a better overall perspective. Like we're looking over the canyons together with the tree itself.

I played with the colors a bit, turning the tree leaves greener while the ground orange hot —yeah, the natural color scheme lol. I wanted to emphasize in the photo that despite the atrocious heat, life can still dwell in dire condition. It's about adaptability.


challenge from @skiesandsports

left original. right my take on the photo.
view the contest here.

This photo looked simple at first but took me a while to edit. I increased the shadows, revealing the interesting details of rocks and mountainsides around the water; lowered the highlights in the sky; then turned the water somewhat "icy."

I played with the colors a bit and went for a calm before the storm look.


edit
i interchanged the position of the photos
i remembered i promised @jarvie i'll arrange it this way
in my first fixit friday participation
so that the thumbnail of my post is the pix i postprocessed



I'm grateful that the photo game stars provided the RAW file as I could play more with their pictures. Tho, it feels quite odd to edit other people's work...

Anyway, I'm taking the contest as an opportunity to challenge myself as postprocessing pix is something I'm quite indecisive about; usually, it takes me many tries, exploration and there are times I do not know at which point to stop —because we can create an interpretation of or enhance the photo in so many ways— that I usually end up making several versions. So a deadline is very helpful in this case and I'm looking at the contest as a form of creative exercise.



Feel free to participate in photogames
where different and interactive game is played everyday.
Learn more here.

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by zirensparvg from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I really love the second photo with the tree. It radiates its greenness :)


ze tree was initially yellow-green
more yellowish than i actually like it to be
so i turned it green
am glad you like it
^o^

you enhanced the photo nicely


salamat bro
sali rin po kayo sa photogames pag di kayo busy
^o^

That's a really interesting and unique edit of my photo, @zirensparvg - good work! Thanks for making this post! :)


thanks @derekkind and to other photostars for providing us with amazing photos that we can play with. Tho i'm not always taking photos, am happy i get to practice my postprocessing skill thru your fixit friday game. That i'm still making progress as a photography hobbyist.
^o^

You're welcome! It's fun for us too, but I agree, practicing on other people's photos is a great way to learn. :)

Good gave a really nice touch on those photograph!!! Absolutely stunning! I loved the milky way! How you favored the foreground, giving intimate connection of how great the distance from heaven there are for those of us here on land! Great work there brother!


salamat bro!
favorite ko talaga yung mga kuha na may stars hehe
mii likes your interepretation to the pix i enhanced :D
~
btw, you might wanna participate in photogames, especially fixit friday.
As i mentioned in our exchange in my previous blog, flowers of botanical garden, photography isn't just about your gear and taking a snap of something.
If you follow the links in each contest, you'll see different interpretations or enhancements of a single photo ;)


participating in Fixit Friday gives you the chance to practice another skill essential in photography: postprocessing.

we can make a photo more interesting in our own unique ways
^o^

yes, bro, I'll definitely look into that, thanks for the tip! :D

Ooohhh.. that's also one of my 'weak' points! So many choices, so little time... I can spend hours pouring over edits! Having said that, all the edits to make something look 'natural'... ;) Totally enjoyed your take on these pics...


that is my other weakness when editing: going natural :(
i kinda envy those who can make certain mood in their photos
it usually seem like a simple filter, but no it's another certain skill in editing...
~
anyway, it's great then that fixit friday is a weekly game of @photogames
participate too @ackhoo so we can address our weak points!
^o^

First of all I would like to share with you my thoughts.
At the first photo you do not need much clarity to the car.
At the second in my opinion there is much high light
and at the third for me is really really good.

But... P.S. ... I will follow the game too Than kyou for sharing it with us


1st photo i thought it'd be a waste not to further show the main foreground: the car, hence its clarity :)
2nd photo well i am not exactly sure what you mean. if you would elucidate.. i'd be happy to hear your thoughts over my enhancement so i can improve my editing skill next time :D

glad at least we agreed in my last edit haha and that you'll participate in @photogames
^o^

Happy to have a communication with other photographers like you.


photographer seems a big title and i have yet to earn what it takes to be called one
i like to think i'm a mere photography hobbyist or enthusiast tho~
~
yeah am glad thru this platform
i can meet and interact more with photographers
not just gawk in awe at their impressive work
^o^

There is no correct title when we are talking about art. I am looking forward to finding photos that interact with my mind and not try to find problems, faults or mistakes in a shot (at least to other photo-journalists or any other title you would like to use). If we must speak as professional then we must be in a gallery or a photo-festival. We are in a social platform where many users share their thoughts, work, hobbies and many more. I am a street art photographer. I like to share my shots with many people, but most of anything I WANT to share with other people how hard is to leave in the streets, in the streets where some people forced to leave.

There are no titles. :)


alright. Point taken :)
just forgive me for feeling the weight of being called a photographer a big responsibility...
You do have an interesting view
as well your chosen photography subjects
we rarely see such documentation

Great edits


thanks @jarvie :D
i'm happy to find a way to still have a before and after arrangement post
while fulfilling my promise to use the edited pix as thumbnail
so from now on, i'm no longer playing "modest" haha!
^o^

Good enhancement of the photos! Especially the Milky Way.


thanks for your support!
i'm satisfied with my other edits
but the milky way will always be a special subject for me
glad you appreciate the enhancements i did
^o^

nice photoshots


agree bro
they are taken by talented and hard working photographers
^o^

Really good postprocessing skills , like it.


thanks sooooo much @vonhandfotografy
^o^