Painting a Rose: Underdrawing and Oil Painting on wood panel

in #flower7 years ago (edited)

I painted this rose as a donation for the "Hearts for the Arts" auction to help raise money for the Springfield Regional Arts Council for their art education programs. They support local teaching artists and arts organizations reaching more than 20,000 children annually in a 27-county region.

Rose Side by Side_Christie Snelson.jpg
12" x 12" on cradled birch panel

I unnecessarily detailed my underdrawing just because I was enjoying the feeling of the graphic on birch. I liked the drawing so much I almost didn't want to paint over it, but I challenged myself to finish using only one paintbrush to keep things interesting. (I chose one of my standard size 2 shaders, if you're curious).

This one was hard to give away because of how much fun I had painting it, but it was so worth it for the cause!

Velvet Petals_Hearts of the Arts_SRAC_Christie Snelson.jpg

Thanks for looking!

christie snelson sized copy.jpg

www.christiesnelson.com

Sort:  

awesome work, its really beautiful, very attractive........ keep it up.
upvoted you.

Thanks so much!

welcome.....

i'v posted my very first blog.............plzz check.

very creative and very emotional drawing..thanks for sharing.

It deserves an upvote and and i follow you...would you mind checking my latest post about
Surpass 300 followers and counting...

It's my pleasure! Thank you!!

Very detailed work and very enjoyable to look over and compare pencil to paint. Enjoyed very much. Great talent you have.

Thank you! I love working with details :) Glad you enjoyed!

that's so lovely!

You share the talent you have and helped people! That's really amazing, Thanks for sharing this with us :)