PURSLANE FLOWER

in #flower5 years ago

We have a few types of Succulents potted up in our backyard. They don't get a lot of attention but we must be doing something right, because they are all flowering.

I spotted this tiny little beauty after our dog walk today. It has one opened flower, but also a few buds ready to open. Correct me if i'm wrong (@nikv), but I think this type of succulent is called Portulaca oleracea or Purslane. They are a low growing drought resistant succulent, but what I found most interesting is they are edible and considered one of the most nutritious greens in the world. The leaves have a high amount of omega-3 fatty acids and are packed full of vitamins and minerals. The leaves are delicious in salads and have a taste similar to watercress, but they can also be cooked. I will have to let mine grow quite a bit before I can pick from it, but I look forward to adding it to our summer salads.

20190104_195106.jpg

Sort:  

Gorgeous colors what a lovely flower so beautiful
Have a great day

It does look like a purslane but I'd like to see leaves as well

Ok, won't taste test until I show you a photo of the leaves.